1. Collapse Details
    Premiere to Avid. How hard of a transition?
    Hi guys,

I was wondering how many people here migrated from Premiere to Avid and how hard was the change? Ive been working with premiere and after fx for like 20 years, but most of the major players in the industry use AVID. So I was thinking of making the switch.

1 out of 1 members found this post helpful.

2. Collapse Details
    Most of my friends learned Avid first and then Premiere. They are fluent in both, and for complex longform storytelling, most prefer Avid. Most love love love neither. But switching is no big deal; even I can stumble through both (as a producer, not a fine editor). Takes a couple days (for me) to shift muscle memory from one system to another. For a real editor who works on both, switching back and forth seems faster/easier.

Download a free 30-day trial (after making sure your computer is listed as compatible):
    https://my.avid.com/get/media-composer-ultimate-trial

Then check out some of the tutorials for people moving from Premiere/Adobe to Avid. For example:

And check out Jonny Elwyn's "Diary of an Avid Switcher." A series of blog posts from a few years ago. He was talking about moving from FCP to Avid, and things have changed a bit since he wrote that, but my memory is there's some really good stuff in there. Start with Part 1:
    https://jonnyelwyn.co.uk/?s=diary

That's my take, at least.
    Last edited by Jim Feeley; 01-09-2020 at 10:28 AM.
    ----------
    Jim Feeley
    POV Media

3. Collapse Details
    AVID is a different mindset than Premiere. Premiere is more drag and drop and AVID is more like editing on a Steenbeck IMO. I prefer Premiere pro...

4. Collapse Details
    While it is not my favorite NLE, learning to edit the AVID way will make you a more efficient editor in whatever other NLE you choose.