Thread: 18-105 F4 focus

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Collapse Details
    18-105 F4 focus
    Sorry if this has been covered. Thinking of trading in my Canon 24-105. Simple reason is I do a lot of run n gun and the Canon + Metabones weighs down the FS5.
    I've heard the Sony lens is tricky to manual focus. Any experiences with this? Is it focus by wire? Thanks

2. Collapse Details
    Yes that is a pretty accurate observation. Yes it is focus by wire. Manual focusing was greatly improved though with the latest firmware update for that lens, v4.0. The focus ring which was as touchy as hell and jumped meters when you tried to focus accurately became a much more linear and progressive feeling lens and became much easier to work with. Well that was my experience with the FS7 until I got the SELP18-110mm. I guess its performance should be fairly similar with the FS5 but I have no direct experience of that with v4.0 firmware on that camera.

https://www.sony.com.au/electronics/...ses/selp18105g

Chris Young

3. Collapse Details
    Chris is correct. The lens improved significantly regarding manual focus after the firmware update released a few months after its launch - but as itís focus by wire it will never allow the accuracy I would like. It is a light lens.

I use mine a lot when I have the FS5 on my Letus Helix Jr gimbal, and itís autofocus is highly useful. Otherwise, I tend to stick with manual focus on Canon lenses with metabones adapters as that gives me the control I want.

Bottom line, I donít think I would want to rely on the Sony lens for all work requiring manual focus in run and gun situations.

4. Collapse Details
    Quote Originally Posted by andykwilkinson View Post
    Bottom line, I don’t think I would want to rely on the Sony lens for all work requiring manual focus in run and gun situations.
    I would second what Andy has said. Though for it's price, size and weight the SELP18105 is a pretty decent tool to have in the kit.

Chris Young