Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567
Results 61 to 66 of 66
  1. Collapse Details
    #61
    Sound Ninja Noiz2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Detroit & SF
    Posts
    6,338
    Default
    Most conversations I have seen on this get numbers confused. There is the 32bit float file, 32 bit float processing internal to the program, and the bit depth of the actual program.
    So while many DAW's used 32 bit float for processing they did not read or write 32 bit float files and of course nether are related (directly anyway) to whether the DAW is a 32 bit application.

    ProTools historically did not process in 32 bit Float it used 48 bit fixed, and it didn't read or write 32 bit float. It may now but if we are talking about post sound on a big feature the odds are that the version of PT is a number of versions back.
    Cheers
    SK


    Scott Koue
    Web Page
    Noiz on Noise


    “It ain’t ignorance that causes all the troubles in this world, it’s the things that people know that ain’t so”

    Edwin Howard Armstrong
    creator of modern radio


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #62
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Beverly Hills, CA
    Posts
    2,054
    Default
    Pro Tools stopped using 24/48 fixed in 2011. Since then it's 32/64-bit float.
    Apps have been 32-bit for over 20 years, now most current apps are 64-bit (compiled for 64-bit OSes). Float-32 (single) and -64 (double) are indeed separate from the app's compilation (32 or 64-bit instructions and addressing).

    If someone's using old Pro Tools TDM hardware (24/48 bit) along with an old copy of Pro Tools, they could run post 2011 Pro Tools to fix over/under (levels) recordings then save as 24 bit files for further editing on the old TDM hardware (I used to own TDM hardware with Pro Tools- was glad to sell it and just use the computer: can edit anywhere, laptop etc.).


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #63
    Senior Member Jaime Valles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    2,001
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by Jim Feeley View Post
    Perhaps it's helpful to view 32-bit float as analogous to auto-focus: A useful too that's not needed or even beneficial to plenty of productions.
    I'm not an audio expert in any way, but I see it more like what raw recording is to video shooting. It's simply more information available for post production to do with as it pleases. If it was recorded properly on set, then all is good. But if on the one great acting take the performer unexpectedly screamed really loudly, in 32bit float it means that the audio file didn't clip.

    It's a safety net, and one that will come in very handy for lower budget shoots.
    Jaime Vallés
    AJV Media
    Video, Photography & Graphic Design: www.ajvmedia.com


    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #64
    Senior Member cpreston's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    1,312
    Default
    For those who have used 32bit recorders, how do they compensate for audio monitoring? I imagine some type of compression. I mean, the last thing I want is the full dynamic range transmitted to my ears. I learned through experience that one of the nice things about limiters is that they protect your hearing.


    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #65
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Beverly Hills, CA
    Posts
    2,054
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by cpreston View Post
    For those who have used 32bit recorders, how do they compensate for audio monitoring? I imagine some type of compression. I mean, the last thing I want is the full dynamic range transmitted to my ears. I learned through experience that one of the nice things about limiters is that they protect your hearing.
    Agree it’s needed. Haven’t heard back if they added an output limiter, for both headphones and to camera (requested features after testing the MixPre 6 I).


    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #66
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    6,762
    Cool
    My copy of Sound Forge 9.0e from 2007 supports 32-bit float recordings with up to 32 channels. I bet 32-bit float support probably goes back to earlier versions of Sound Forge too.


    Reply With Quote
     

Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •