Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
  1. Collapse Details
    Is HEVC 10 bit this bad or is my camera acting up?
    #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    119
    Default
    ALL-I looks great to me. But HEVC does not:

    Red channel:

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/zp6yl41e8r...%20PM.png?dl=0

    with basic LUT:

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/gt508pbn8x...%20PM.png?dl=0

    These are V Log with just the Panasonic rec709 LUT.

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/y742ickk5v...%20PM.png?dl=0

    But ALL-I looks nice.

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/schp5uvf8j...%20PM.png?dl=0

    Looks as good as (if not better than) ProRes.

    Is the discrepancy this big?

    The camera is also not recognizing SDXC cards as SDXC, but it might be the cards. They test at 150MBpbs read/write, though.


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    119
    Default
    Edit: my camera has got to be faulty. h264 8 bit 150Mbps looks 100X better than HEVC 10 bit 150Mbps...

    Or is anyone else experiencing this, too?


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    6,146
    Default
    Is there a better way you can show us what you're seeing? Maybe some high-quality stills with other subjects with good color?

    Are you referring to the blotches/compression?


    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    119
    Default
    Forgive the filthy wall (not my place) but it was the best to bring out the problem.

    These are straight out of camera + Panasonic "Nicest rec709" LUT.

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/96srtivter...0Mbps.psd?dl=0

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/57a69dlu3g...0Mbps.psd?dl=0

    h264 8 bit looks soooo much better to me. I just updated to 3.0 firmware today. :/

    Toggle through RGB channels to see the full extent of it, it's bad.


    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    6,146
    Default
    It's indeed a mess.

    I have no answer, but maybe another EVA1 user that sees this can provide you a test of their own to rule out if it's your camera.


    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    119
    Default
    Thanks, yeah I can't imagine this is how it's supposed to be.

    I think it looks somewhat better in Resolve, weirdly?

    But then the h264 file won't even open in Resolve.

    Weird.
    Last edited by Amulet Man; 07-25-2019 at 06:34 PM.


    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    6,644
    Default
    Please contact Panasonic Support and our engineers can check your files. This should not be the case.
    Mitch Gross
    Cinema Product Manager
    Panasonic System Solutions Company


    Reply With Quote
     

  8. Collapse Details
    #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    119
    Default
    Whom should I contact? Do you have an email address I can send these to?


    Reply With Quote
     

  9. Collapse Details
    #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    6,644
    Default
    I don't know in what country you are based. You need to contact Panasonic in your region. If you are in the US, please see the link below. That is the product page for the EVA1. Scroll to the bottom to find the various ways you can contact Panasonic Support.

    https://na.panasonic.com/us/audio-vi...er-35-handheld
    Mitch Gross
    Cinema Product Manager
    Panasonic System Solutions Company


    Reply With Quote
     

  10. Collapse Details
    #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    119
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by Mitch Gross View Post
    I don't know in what country you are based. You need to contact Panasonic in your region. If you are in the US, please see the link below. That is the product page for the EVA1. Scroll to the bottom to find the various ways you can contact Panasonic Support.

    https://na.panasonic.com/us/audio-vi...er-35-handheld
    East coast USA, and thanks.

    I'm not seeing this problem so severely in Resolve. Talking with an EVA1 owner in the UK about it now. Is it possible this is on Adobe's side? These screen grabs are from After Effects (32 bit mode, though).


    Reply With Quote
     

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •