Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22
  1. Collapse Details
    #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Beverly Hills, CA
    Posts
    2,071
    Default
    Latest version of Premiere Pro CC + NVidia drivers = can't handle 4K ALL-I H.264 from the EOS R in real-time on my high-end 4K Windows box (10-Core, NVMe, GTX 1080, 64GB RAM): must currently be supported by a non-optimized code path (no GPU, slow CPU code). 1DX II 4K MJPEG cuts like butter compared to these files (even X-T3 10-bit files are faster to edit).

    The good news is that using 1280x720Mbps H.264 proxies was fairly painless to add (after already creating the project vs. at ingest) and the proxy files ended up being around 600MB for the Venice projects (which is > 30GB of 4K, 1080, etc. ALL-I clips).


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Beverly Hills, CA
    Posts
    2,071
    Default
    The EOS R's electronic shutter system is different from the 1DX II, 80D, C300 II (without clear scan enabled) and all other cameras I've used around LED lights (including the GH4, A7S I, A7S II). When shooting at 24fps, there's constant horizontal banding (cheap LEDs). Lowering the shutter speed from 1/50, reduces the banding- it spreads out and becomes less dark. Increasing the shutter speed the banding gets thinner (repeating more), and much darker. Setting video to 60fps (59.94) eliminates the banding (apparently this is an issue with the A7 III too).


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Beverly Hills, CA
    Posts
    2,071
    Default
    EOS R, RF 24-105, 16-35 2.8 II, Zhiyun Crane 2 (first time using it):



    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    1,218
    Default
    jcs-

    thanks for the linked footage and your continued posting to this thread.

    i find both very helpful.

    was that your footage?

    if so, the dpaf seemed to be working very well.

    did you grade much?

    if so, the 8 bit footage looked just fine.

    again, thanks for the effort and the sharing.

    thumbs up.

    rob
    smalltalk productions/nyc
    the story is never black & white
    it takes Smalltalk to reveal the color

    smalltalk.productions


    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    5,881
    Default
    There is supposed to be a totally groovy firmware upgrade that makes the EOS R Auto Focus almost as good as Sony's (A9, A6600, A7RIV). Whether or not it's useful in the video mode is not yet disclosed.


    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Beverly Hills, CA
    Posts
    2,071
    Default
    Yeah I think that was the April 2019 1.20 update. Seems to work pretty well (haven't compared to Sony).


    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Beverly Hills, CA
    Posts
    2,071
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by robfilms View Post
    jcs-

    thanks for the linked footage and your continued posting to this thread.

    i find both very helpful.

    was that your footage?

    if so, the dpaf seemed to be working very well.

    did you grade much?

    if so, the 8 bit footage looked just fine.

    again, thanks for the effort and the sharing.

    thumbs up.

    rob
    smalltalk productions/nyc
    Hi Rob- yeah that's my footage. Very quick & light grades.


    Reply With Quote
     

  8. Collapse Details
    #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    5,881
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by jcs View Post
    Yeah I think that was the April 2019 1.20 update. Seems to work pretty well (haven't compared to Sony).
    No, it hasn't come out yet.



    Reply With Quote
     

  9. Collapse Details
    #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    6,134
    Default
    Most likely just a stills AF update.

    The one earlier this year had the eye-AF for video (as jcs mentioned).


    Reply With Quote
     

  10. Collapse Details
    #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Beverly Hills, CA
    Posts
    2,071
    Default
    Basic eye detection is free- once the face is found the eyes are in known approximate locations. More precise eye locations can be found by simply re-applying the feature detector in the face box looking for the eyes (or eyebrows, nose, or lips- that'll be another new feature useful for cosmetic product shots with ultra-shallow DOF etc.).

    Pretty basic tech-wise, kinda funny how these companies are slow dripping trivial features (and removing 24p in new cameras lol).


    Reply With Quote
     

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •