Thread: Kastar and FS5

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. Collapse Details
    Kastar and FS5
    #1
    Senior Member scorsesefan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Queens, New York
    Posts
    1,521
    Default
    I just purchased a Kastar BPU-66 battery for my FS5 and I'm noticing that it fits very tightly in the battery compartment. I'm a bit worried about damaging/breaking the battery contacts on the FS5 when I swap out the battery.

    Anyone else notice this?

    Thanks


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    5,780
    Default
    Sometimes third-party batteries are tight fits.

    Nothing should happen, but it is probably unnecessary stress.


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #3
    Senior Member scorsesefan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Queens, New York
    Posts
    1,521
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by NorBro View Post
    Sometimes third-party batteries are tight fits.

    Nothing should happen, but it is probably unnecessary stress.
    Unnecessary stress on the battery contacts or ME?


    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    5,780
    Default
    haha, both if you care...it would stress me out because I don't like things like that. I have various OCD issues.

    I like the way a battery cleanly clicks into place.

    Sometimes I have to put a lens on again if I don't feel a good click.


    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #5
    Senior Member scorsesefan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Queens, New York
    Posts
    1,521
    Default
    Yes, OCD here, too. I like things to work well and 'click'...


    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    5,780
    Default
    Side note, did you ever get a Pocket?


    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    #7
    Senior Member scorsesefan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Queens, New York
    Posts
    1,521
    Default
    No, I wound up with an XT3. Once upon a time I owned a BMCC 2.5K and I was optimistic about BM as a company but this whole BMPCC 4K roll out really soured me on them, and as Dan pointed out due to their quirks they're really not ideal cameras for working pros...


    Reply With Quote
     

  8. Collapse Details
    #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    5,780
    Default
    I'd bet that Dan has never used a Blackmagic camera or not a lot of them (with all due respect).

    I can usually tell by how people talk about them, ha.


    Reply With Quote
     

  9. Collapse Details
    #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Bidford upon Avon, UK
    Posts
    261
    Default
    You may well find that your freshly charged third party battery causes the camera to make you re input the date and time fields. It seems that if you let it sit for a day or two before using it it may not happen. Weird behaviour though.


    Reply With Quote
     

  10. Collapse Details
    #10
    Senior Member scorsesefan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Queens, New York
    Posts
    1,521
    Default
    Yes, I noticed this actually. Kind of annoying. I may just spend the extra $ and by OEM...


    Reply With Quote
     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •