Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. Collapse Details
    X-T3 smoothest settings for editing
    #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    377
    Default
    I find H265 from the X-T3 to be a struggle when editing so I started to test the camera and which settings I could get the smoothest editing experience and still have the best quality.

    My main editing is done on a Win10/4 core-i7/Nvidia1080Ti with Nvme2 drives for media and my backup is a 6 core Macbook Pro 2018 15". Both with Premiere Pro 2019 struggle when it comes to H265 and they have about the same performance.

    My testing so far has led me to use H265 UHD/DCI in LongGOP mode and at 200mb/s as this gives me the smoothest editing. Using All-I codec results in a mess of choppy playback in Premiere. I also found to set Premiere to "Maximum Render Quality" and "Composite in Linear Color" under Sequence Settings for best playback. With these settings I can even do light CC in real time while playing. It's not perfect as it seldom is with Premiere editing and sometimes playback I just choppy but a quick start/stop usually solves it.

    Any other suggestions on achieving the best PP editing with X-T3 files?


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #2
    Senior Member scorsesefan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Queens, New York
    Posts
    1,603
    Default
    Thanks. I'm on a 2017 Imac 27" and I can barely get 10fps on x-t3 footage. Transcoding is the way to go. H265 is just too intensive for my system at least...


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #3
    Senior Member puredrifting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles, Ca.
    Posts
    9,860
    Default
    2019 iMac here with FCP X 10.4.6. Same thing, H.265, as of today, should be transcoded to your preferred flavor of Prores for editing. H.265 is a lousy editing codec.
    It's a business first and a creative outlet second.
    G.A.S. destroys lives. Stop buying gear that doesn't make you money.


    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #4
    Senior Member Grug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    3,629
    Default
    I'm shooting the X-T3 almost exclusively in Prores to the Ninja V because of the pain of editing H265...

    It's a bit disappointing really, because I HATE having to rely on external recording - especially with a cable connection as PATHETIC as Micro HDMI.


    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #5
    Senior Member James0b57's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    3,902
    Default
    I was editing XT3 4K footage in a 1080p timeline in Davinci Resolve and FCPX on 2019 iMac base model 24GB RAM without any issues. I applied a basic test grade, and it still played back fine.

    That said, the computer was brand new and the project relatively simple.


    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    22
    Default
    Hi there, I personaly use Davinci 16 (beta) and i can successfully edit 4k 50fps on my laptop (ROG Zephyrus i7-8750h gtx1070 and 32gb ram).
    The secret is to generate proxy/optimized media even if it takes a while (a full 8hours day /300gb of files requires 8 hours), so if you have time i'd suggest that instead of transcoding beacuse you can just delete those optimized media after delivery (I hate having to deal with another big set of files).
    Generally speaking i find Davinci to be slightly faster the premiere while editing with optimized media, but it will be VERY demanding if you do an aggressive color correction
    Hope that helps


    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    426
    Default
    Yeah I just transcode to prores or shoot 8 bit.


    Reply With Quote
     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •