Page 1 of 10 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 93
  1. Collapse Details
    Affordable camera with internal 10bit 422 4K?
    #1
    Senior Member SJX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,030
    Default
    Looking for camera with 10bit 422 internal 4K. Anything affordable preferably used. I was thinking of FS7 plus 7Q used. But want to see if there is anything with internal recording for around same price. Even if mirrorless or DSLR. Internal ND is nice but seems like variable ND filters now are good enough. GH5 is nice but would prefer staying in s35. Don't know if the XT-3 and XT30 record internal 10 bit 422 4K. FS5 can be found for around same price as FS700 plus 7Q. But I think 10 bit 422 internal is HD only?

    What's out there? Thanks.


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    6,134
    Default
    The X-T3 records 10-bit 4:2:0 4K.

    ___

    Blackmagic's BMPC ($1000-ish on ebay) records 10-bit 4:2:2 ProRes HQ and CDNG RAW up to 4K/30p.*

    (*Max clean ISO of 400 makes the camera difficult to use without lighting. 800 is available but unusable with FPN, IMO.)

    ___

    URSA Mini 4K for a bit more money does the same as above but up to 60p. (Same sensor as BMPC...max ISO of 400.)

    URSA 4K (big one) goes up to 12-bit 444 and 444XQ. (Same sensor as BMPC...max ISO of 400.)

    And of course you have the 4.6K models and URSA Broadcast.

    ___

    Z CAM E2 ($2K) ---> 10-bit 4:2:2 ProRes.


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #3
    Senior Member SJX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,030
    Default
    Thanks. Like I said I want to stay s35mm. FF is ok. Smaller than s35 not.

    So no mirrorless or DSLR record 10 bit 422 4k internally?

    Blackmagic has problems specially the old 4K right? Old box 4K is harder to work than DSLR I think?

    FS5 is indeed 10 442 internally only in HD? 4K is what 10bit 420 or 8bit 422?


    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #4
    Senior Member David W. Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    La Petite Roche
    Posts
    6,722
    Default
    GH5 with a SpeedBooster / FF lens combo gives you S35


    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    6,134
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by SJX View Post
    Thanks. Like I said I want to stay s35mm. FF is ok. Smaller than s35 not.

    So no mirrorless or DSLR record 10 bit 422 4k internally?

    Blackmagic has problems specially the old 4K right? Old box 4K is harder to work than DSLR I think?

    FS5 is indeed 10 442 internally only in HD? 4K is what 10bit 420 or 8bit 422?
    lol.

    All of them are S35 besides the E2 (and the URSA Broadcast, which I didn't think you'd really consider...just mentioned it because I mentioned the rest of the 4K Blackmagics).

    Blackmagics may have issues. Depends on the one you're using.

    FS5's 4K is 8-bit 4:2:0 internally.


    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #6
    Senior Member SJX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,030
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by NorBro View Post
    lol.

    All of them are S35 besides the E2 (and the URSA Broadcast, which I didn't think you'd really consider...just mentioned it because I mentioned the rest of the 4K Blackmagics).

    Blackmagics may have issues. Depends on the one you're using.

    FS5's 4K is 8-bit 4:2:0 internally.

    Quote Originally Posted by NorBro View Post

    Blackmagic's BMPC ($1000-ish on ebay) records 10-bit 4:2:2 ProRes HQ and CDNG RAW up to 4K/30p.*
    BMPC is s35? I thought the original pocket was like 2/3 or something?

    What issues the box 4K blackmagic has? I remember FPN, bad low light performance, and also low dynamic range? But is long ago.


    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    #7
    Senior Member SJX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,030
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by David W. Jones View Post
    GH5 with a SpeedBooster / FF lens combo gives you S35
    But that adds much cost, weight and size or? Is it cumbersome to work with the adapter? I normally hate adapters but maybe is an option. GH5 record 10 bit 422 4k internally right? Or is only GH5S?


    Reply With Quote
     

  8. Collapse Details
    #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    6,134
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by SJX View Post
    BMPC is s35? I thought the original pocket was like 2/3 or something?

    What issues the box 4K blackmagic has? I remember FPN, bad low light performance, and also low dynamic range? But is long ago.
    BMPC = Blackmagic Production Camera (https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...camera_4k.html)

    Not to be confused with BMCC, or BMPCC, or BMPCC 4K.

    FPN exists only @800. Clean @400.

    "Bad low light performance" is more like "no low light performance" because it simply doesn't have any high ISOs to try. 800 is unusable and nothing higher than that is available.

    DR = 12 stops. It's Blackmagic's lowest DR camera (with 'FILM' DR option), but enough for some people.

    BMPC.jpg


    Reply With Quote
     

  9. Collapse Details
    #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    6,134
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by SJX View Post
    But that adds much cost, weight and size or? Is it cumbersome to work with the adapter? I normally hate adapters but maybe is an option. GH5 record 10 bit 422 4k internally right? Or is only GH5S?
    Do some research?...takes two seconds to look it up.

    You should really want to learn about the cameras you're interested in yourself besides what people (including myself) tell you on here.

    Yes, the GH5 does too (30p max, internally).


    0 out of 1 members found this post helpful.
    Reply With Quote
     

  10. Collapse Details
    #10
    Senior Member SJX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,030
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by NorBro View Post
    Do some research?...takes two seconds to look it up.

    You should really want to learn about the cameras you're interested in yourself besides what people (including myself) tell you on here.

    Yes, the GH5 does too (30p max, internally).
    Thanks. If it took 2 secs I would have found. For example looked on BH and sony site to see if FS5 did 10 bit 422 4k internal. Only say 4k internal. Nothing about 420, 422 or 10bit. Details like bit depth etc seem hidden for cameras. Need much digging.


    Reply With Quote
     

Page 1 of 10 12345 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •