Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. Collapse Details
    Removing the grip
    #1
    Senior Member New_Zealand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Alaska and New Zealand
    Posts
    1,676
    Default
    Has anyone removed their grip from their C300 Mk I and used the camera without the grip? I'm wanting to see if I can get the C300 to work on the Allsteady Gimbal. Thanks


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #2
    Senior Member Run&Gun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    3,444
    Default
    I presume you’re referring to the handgrip with the record button, joystick and adjustment dial. Yes, you can remove it. It’s not necessary for operation. It’s there more for operational convenience than necessity. Lots of times I’ve never even put mine on, especially when shooting with my 17-120 attached.

    Just a word of warning, after you remove it and then put it back on make sure that the plug is FULLY inserted and seated, otherwise the camera will not work properly. I like to give it a little 1/4 turn while pushing in AFTER I feel that it’s already fully seated, just to be safe.


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #3
    Senior Member New_Zealand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Alaska and New Zealand
    Posts
    1,676
    Default
    Yes you are right that is what I'm talking about Thanks for the info. I have been a bit nervous about removing the handgrip. When I received my C300 (used) it was already attach.


    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    591
    Default
    I've used the C300 for hundreds of hours and have never had the grip attached, ever. The standard package comes with a screw-on port cover with a molded thumb relief that protects the hole after removal, look for it in the accessories that came with the camera.


    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #5
    Senior Member New_Zealand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Alaska and New Zealand
    Posts
    1,676
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by nothing View Post
    I've used the C300 for hundreds of hours and have never had the grip attached, ever. The standard package comes with a screw-on port cover with a molded thumb relief that protects the hole after removal, look for it in the accessories that came with the camera.
    Unfortunately they didn't put that item in the box when I bought it used. I can check and see if B&H might have one for sale.thanks


    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    5,780
    Default
    Part #: Canon D87-0130-000

    Probably could find it at Canon in the parts department.

    TMS used to sell it: https://shop.texasmediasystems.com/C...00_p_6211.html


    1 out of 1 members found this post helpful.
    Reply With Quote
     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •