Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. Collapse Details
    Converting 29.97 fps to 23.98 fps
    #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Medellin, Colombia
    Posts
    42
    Default
    Hi, I am finishing a film in 23.98 fps but my colorist accidently mastered in 29.97 fps and it can't be undone, what is the best way to get it back to 23.98 fps? I work in Final Cut Pro X 10.4.4.
    When I view the files he sent me (in vlc for example), every fifth frame is a repeated still frame with no movement.
    I import the files into a 23.98 fps timeline in FCPX, but that fifth freezed frame is still there (and also when I export).
    How can I properly convert 29.97 fps into 23.98? I tried to convert it in Mpeg Streamclip going into 23.98 fps but it didn't work, it looks the same.
    Thank you for any help.
    Last edited by orange; 11-28-2018 at 11:43 AM.


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #2
    Senior Member El Director's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Fortine, MT
    Posts
    1,953
    Default
    Why can't it be undone? He can't re-render at 23.98?


    Independent Filmmaker
    BMD URSA Mini 4K/Avid Media Composer/NukeX/Blender/Mixcraft/ProTools/Resolve Studio

    Feature Films
    Wulf - 2008 | Leap - 2010 | Leap: Rise of the Beast - 2011 | Surviving The Wild - 2020


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Medellin, Colombia
    Posts
    42
    Default
    What I've understood it is not possible to just re-render (in Davinci Resolve), he would have to mount and grade everything from scratch again in a timeline of a different framerate. Sounds crazy, I know.


    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #4
    Senior Member jasonbrooks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    London & Stroud, UK
    Posts
    320
    Default
    That’s just wrong info AFAIK. I think your colourist has made a major mistake and is now asking you to pick up the pieces. I don’t know the exact or simplest way to do it in DVR, but have used the program enough to know there is definitely a way to do it.They should do the necessary research and work out how to make the change. Whatever re-transcoding you do on the export will cause a loss of quality. There are several great DVR forums around that should be able to give them the solution quickly and easily.

    Good luck!

    Jason
    ----------------
    Freelance Site: www.Opticalism.com/jason
    Company Site: www.Opticalism.com
    Vimeo: https://vimeo.com/jasonbrooks/videos
    Africa Blog: www.Opticalism.com/travels

    Sum Ergo Edo.


    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Bergen, Netherlands
    Posts
    1,130
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by jasonbrooks View Post
    That’s just wrong info AFAIK. I think your colourist has made a major mistake and is now asking you to pick up the pieces. I don’t know the exact or simplest way to do it in DVR, but have used the program enough to know there is definitely a way to do it.They should do the necessary research and work out how to make the change. Whatever re-transcoding you do on the export will cause a loss of quality. There are several great DVR forums around that should be able to give them the solution quickly and easily.

    Good luck!

    Jason
    +1
    I render different clips in different framerates in 4K or in 1080 from the same timeline.

    I guess he imported clips with different framerates in his timeline. Resolve asks if the time-line frame rate has to be changed then or not. I think he clicked 'yes'.


    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    6,035
    Default
    The main issue here would be the audio if it's locked (would be/may be slightly out-of-sync in the new timeline).

    Ask him to 'copy-and-paste' (or whatever you do in Resolve) into a 23.98p/24p timeline and export a new master and review it to see if/how noticeable it may be.

    That only takes a few seconds and you can at least take a look.

    ---

    At the end of the day, it's not the end-of-the-world if everything looks good, sounds good in the 29.97p/30p timeline, but it of course should be correct as it was intended to be.


    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    #7
    Member joema's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    53
    Default
    In FCPX you can smoothly mix 24 and 30 fps by using optical flow rate conforming. This is a different menu choice than optical flow retiming. Select the clip with a frame rate that differs from the project, then in the video inspector at the bottom under "Rate Conform", pick "Optical Flow". Render (CTRL+R) that and observe the playback. There is significant CPU cost and increased render time when doing this. Therefore you ideally want to shoot the same frame rate for all cameras except for high-frame-rate cameras intended for slow motion only. However using optical flow rate conforming will fix many situations with mixed 24/30 fps material.


    Reply With Quote
     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •