Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
  1. Collapse Details
    What budget cam has decent mic input and interchangeable lenses for our students?
    Hi,
    I'm a teacher of media in our school and we would like to buy several cameras that:

* Be used for video and photography
    * Can swap lenses for our photography (+ video) students
    * Shoot 1080 video
    * Have a mic input and headphone option for use in interviews. (We run a student tv show)
    (Dual audio is just an extra layer of complexity it would be good to avoid)
    * We don't need the 'latest and greatest' quality...just good quality...
    * Don't break the bank....we have a budget...and each extra dollar is one less camera we can buy!

Any cameras come to mind?

I think we need to settle on a family of cameras...that we can purchase a range of lenses for.

I'm thinking about going with Canon. But open to suggestions.

Thanks for any thoughts!

2. Collapse Details
    What do you mean by "budget"? Not trying to be snide, but wondering if something like a Canon C100mkII would work for you.

Or perhaps your neighbors at Blackmagic Design have some old/refurbed/demo cameras they can let go cheap. That might be a good way to go...
    https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/products
    ----------
    Jim Feeley
    POV Media

3. Collapse Details
    I would get a bunch of used GH4 cameras.

4. Collapse Details
    Get a few Canon Rebels. They'll be perfect for learning, plus you have the option of installing Magic Lantern. When I was in High School, we had one really nice camera (Sony VX1000) and like three Cannon ZR10's (they were Canon ZR, the number I don't know). Point being, Canon makes good stuff, and a Canon DSLR is perfect for learning.

Independent Filmmaker
    BMD URSA Mini 4K/Avid Media Composer/NukeX/Blender/Mixcraft/ProTools/Resolve Studio

Feature Films
    Wulf - 2008 | Leap - 2010 | Leap: Rise of the Beast - 2011 | Surviving The Wild - 2020

5. Collapse Details