Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. Collapse Details
    mp4 playback stutter in premiere on macbook
    #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Amsterdam, the Netherlands
    Posts
    172
    Default
    Had a frustrated editor on the phone with a sluggish editing experience using the mp4 50p UHD files.
    on former edits they would play just fine but now they are stuttering and sluggish.

    Editor did update to the latest 12.1.1 premiere.

    anyone else experiencing this on a macbook?

    Myself i'm on a job and not able to check on my windows machine.

    thanks.
    C200,C100,ninjablade,3 xc10's,ef 24-70L2,8, ef 24-105L is f4, ef-s 10-22 , ef 70-300L is 3,5-5,6 , ef 17-40L f4, samyang fisheye 8mm, sigma Art 18-35 f1,8 , ef 100mmL is f2,8, sigma Art 50-100 f1,8, sigma c 150-600 +tc1,4


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Amsterdam, the Netherlands
    Posts
    172
    Default
    hmmm this could be part of the problem
    https://adobe-video.uservoice.com/fo...-2018-12-1-and
    C200,C100,ninjablade,3 xc10's,ef 24-70L2,8, ef 24-105L is f4, ef-s 10-22 , ef 70-300L is 3,5-5,6 , ef 17-40L f4, samyang fisheye 8mm, sigma Art 18-35 f1,8 , ef 100mmL is f2,8, sigma Art 50-100 f1,8, sigma c 150-600 +tc1,4


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #3
    Senior Member Dustin Svehlak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    100
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by avian View Post
    hmmm this could be part of the problem
    https://adobe-video.uservoice.com/fo...-2018-12-1-and
    This link is in regards to ProRes playback, so unless your editor transcoded the footage I think it's unrelated. Although, transcoding the footage to ProRes, even proxies to use during the edit, could alleviate some performance issues.

    There are so many variables that could lead to sluggish performance in this scenario but a 50p UHD mp4 can be a menace to any non-modern MacBook (I have an i7 mid-2013 MacBook Air and I can have trouble with any mp4s above 1080p).

    If the system worked before but now has an issue, I would check to see whether something has changed. An update to Premiere could cause the issue, sure, but if the drive he's reading / writing has more data on it, that could cause an issue. I sometimes even run into a playback issue on my 6 Core Mac Pro and I look up to find that Time Machine is running a backup of the footage I just imported so my scratch drive is being taxed.

    All that said, can you tell us more about the specs of the system he's using? What model and year of MacBook is he working from?


    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Amsterdam, the Netherlands
    Posts
    172
    Default
    macOS 10.13.5
    macbook pro (retina 15-inch mid 2015
    2,5Ghz i7
    16GB ddr3
    graphics intel iris pro 1536
    C200,C100,ninjablade,3 xc10's,ef 24-70L2,8, ef 24-105L is f4, ef-s 10-22 , ef 70-300L is 3,5-5,6 , ef 17-40L f4, samyang fisheye 8mm, sigma Art 18-35 f1,8 , ef 100mmL is f2,8, sigma Art 50-100 f1,8, sigma c 150-600 +tc1,4


    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #5
    Senior Member Dustin Svehlak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    100
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by avian View Post
    graphics intel iris pro 1536
    That would be the bottleneck. I'm sure under certain circumstances this graphics card is fine but it would be best to have a discrete AMD / Nvidia card for this type of footage. That said, and forgive me if this is ignorant because I'm a Final Cut Boi, he should be able to transcode to ProRes proxy and edit just fine.


    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #6
    Member definitionxmk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles CA
    Posts
    39
    Default
    Editing off SSDs, external hard drive, etc.?
    'Because only during magic shows and navy
    working hours are the rules of logic suspended.'
    WWW.PROJECT-DEFINITION.COM
    WWW.INSTAGRAM.COM/DEFINITIONXMK

    Canon C200 | RED Raven| Canon 5D Mark III | Panasonic AG-DVX100B | Panasonic G7


    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    #7
    Senior Member Cary Knoop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Newark CA, USA
    Posts
    1,213
    Default
    For editing UHDp50 you need a powerful computer.

    I would recommend a powerful desktop with a large monitor.

    But if the editor insists on editing on that laptop, I would advice proxies.


    Reply With Quote
     

  8. Collapse Details
    #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Amsterdam, the Netherlands
    Posts
    172
    Default
    update: reverting back to premiere 12.0.01 solved the issues so adobe definitely messed something up this update cycle.
    C200,C100,ninjablade,3 xc10's,ef 24-70L2,8, ef 24-105L is f4, ef-s 10-22 , ef 70-300L is 3,5-5,6 , ef 17-40L f4, samyang fisheye 8mm, sigma Art 18-35 f1,8 , ef 100mmL is f2,8, sigma Art 50-100 f1,8, sigma c 150-600 +tc1,4


    Reply With Quote
     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •