Page 6 of 10 FirstFirst ... 2345678910 LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 96
  1. Collapse Details
    #51
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    1,544
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by dmitrizigany View Post
    Problem is it has no SDI so can’t record the FS raw output... other than that it would have been perfect
    Exactly! I was watching the YouTube video a hour or
    so ago thinking ‘Perfect!’ until they got to the
    HDMI only part. So close yet so far......��


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #52
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    1,514
    Default
    Actually thinking of selling my FS700 + 7Q and getting the A7III + Ninja V until the FS-line has caught up in regards to ibis and AF...
    Last edited by dmitrizigany; 04-09-2018 at 04:50 PM.
    Sony NEX-FS700R | A7S | Odyssey 7Q+ | Atomos Ninja V
    FE: Sony 24-70/2.8 GM, 70-200/2.8 GM, 28-135/4, 50/1.8, 28-70, SEL: 50/1.8, 35/1.8, 18-105/4
    Samyang 16, 35 & 85mm Cine
    Sachtler Flowtech 75 | Benro S8
    MacBook Pro 2018 6-core i7 2.6 ghz / 32gb ram / 512gb HD | macOS Catalina
    Hackintosh i7-8700K 6-core 3.7 ghz / 32 gb ram / 512gb NVMe / Radeon RX 580 | macOS Mojave


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #53
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Frankfurt GER
    Posts
    1,450
    Default
    Off topic but the ninja v is a bang for the GH5.


    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #54
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    118
    Default
    And the Ninja V is perfect for - wait for it - the Sony RX0, which outputs 4K in 10bit (really) 422.

    In fact the GH5 (to get 10bit 422 4K 60P) and the RX0 are the only cameras I see that get a significant benefit, given that almost all other cameras output in 8bit (422) via HDMI. No great benefits from just improving on 420 and getting higher bitrates.


    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #55
    Senior Member Grug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    3,713
    Default
    Is there a single hardware change to the FS5II?


    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #56
    Mod v2.0 Noel Evans's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    10,872
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by Grug View Post
    Is there a single hardware change to the FS5II?
    I saw an interview that said no. This really confused me. The whole point was to update colour science to match Venice. What other camera in the Sony range has colour match to Venice? (serious question, Im ignorant on that). My thought though was couldn't this have been a firmware update to existing cameras? Only going on the one Sony rep interview I saw.
    w: Noel Evans TV

    e: noel@noelevans.tv
    p: +61 (0) 408 455 374


    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    #57
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    1,514
    Default
    Yes, was thinking the same. Seems like all the changes could have been done via a firmware upgrade to the original FS5...

    However in this video (at around 1:50) they ask if it will be hard to match with the old version, and he says that if you want really close match you should have two (of the same I guess).
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EkMmLjX8Za8

    So they must have tweaked the way the sensor speaks with the rest of the camera in a deeper way than is possible via firmware upgrade? Then the question is: will this also effect the raw output?

    He also says that they have done this new version based on user feedback. So... who the hell requested a black ND knob instead of better internal codecs? If you hadn't done that, maybe it would have got that intead! ;)
    Sony NEX-FS700R | A7S | Odyssey 7Q+ | Atomos Ninja V
    FE: Sony 24-70/2.8 GM, 70-200/2.8 GM, 28-135/4, 50/1.8, 28-70, SEL: 50/1.8, 35/1.8, 18-105/4
    Samyang 16, 35 & 85mm Cine
    Sachtler Flowtech 75 | Benro S8
    MacBook Pro 2018 6-core i7 2.6 ghz / 32gb ram / 512gb HD | macOS Catalina
    Hackintosh i7-8700K 6-core 3.7 ghz / 32 gb ram / 512gb NVMe / Radeon RX 580 | macOS Mojave


    Reply With Quote
     

  8. Collapse Details
    #58
    Senior Member starcentral's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    6,704
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by Grug View Post
    Is there a single hardware change to the FS5II?
    Sony is officially saying "no" on record but personally I find it odd that they would release a mkii that in all practicality is just a software update. It's actually quite baffling and doesn't make any sense.

    The mkii also has some additional picture profiles, for example it will feature some "dslr" type instant looks with higher contrast, punchier images ,etc..


    Quote Originally Posted by Noel Evans View Post
    I saw an interview that said no. This really confused me. The whole point was to update colour science to match Venice. What other camera in the Sony range has colour match to Venice? (serious question, Im ignorant on that). My thought though was couldn't this have been a firmware update to existing cameras? Only going on the one Sony rep interview I saw.
    If definitely appears to be nothing more than a firmware update updating the set of picture profiles. Odd to have released it as an mkii camera - perhaps they made so many FS5's to get cost down that they will simply relabel the body, change the ND knob color, load new firmware all in effort to sell cameras. Only logical conclusion to be honest.

    Once sony saturates FS5 sales I think Sony might release a "venice like" 3D LUT to apply to sgamut3.cine / slog3 footage to get "venice like" color etc.. I say this because many of the clips shot in the Lucent promo were shot in RAW which means it had to be recorded in log and graded after. Surely Sony would use the same "look" developed for them for Venice and now FS5 mkii on the footage where they could not otherwise "bake in" the look using internal codec and the new color picture profile. ;)


    Quote Originally Posted by dmitrizigany View Post
    Yes, was thinking the same. Seems like all the changes could have been done via a firmware upgrade to the original FS5...

    However in this video (at around 1:50) they ask if it will be hard to match with the old version, and he says that if you want really close match you should have two (of the same I guess).
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EkMmLjX8Za8

    So they must have tweaked the way the sensor speaks with the rest of the camera in a deeper way than is possible via firmware upgrade? Then the question is: will this also effect the raw output
    I also obsessively analyzed Claus's wording in this interview and thought the same thing, but after realized Clause flipped the question around and instead of answering if mkii can be matched to the original fs5, @ 2:05 he flips the scenario around and says "you can manually adjust your picture profiles in the original fs5" so he kind of botched the question.
    Dennis Hingsberg


    Reply With Quote
     

  9. Collapse Details
    #59
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Here and there....
    Posts
    535
    Default
    THis is a very perplexing move by Sony. They are facing some pretty stiff competition from the EVA1 and C200 and all they do is update the color science and throw in two licenses for free, which is like getting a sales rebate? So, that's it for the FS5 for the next few years?

    Adding internal 422 and a stronger mount to the FS5 would not have necessarily undercut the FS7II, which needs an update anyways. Who's still selling $10,000 cameras in 2018 that need a $2000 dongle to record RAW and Prores ?


    Reply With Quote
     

  10. Collapse Details
    #60
    Senior Member starcentral's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    6,704
    Default
    Next generation Sony camera's FSXXX will be full frame, Venice color science, etc.. starts all over again. 8-bit, 10-bit, 12-bit RAW etc..

    Thing i've been trying to stress in the past, and even now with the announcement of mkii is that if the image coming out of the camera is 95% there it doesn't need to be 10-bit, 16-bit RAW, etc.. Imagine if you were to record 8-bit log or even rec709 from an ARRI camera or the F35 and then grade it. I have done this plenty. It only needs small contrast & saturation change whereas for current Sony color you're talking several days in surgery.

    So I would easily take this gimmick Sony is pulling of a better image with highlight rendition, skin tone emphasis in 8-bit then shooting in 16-bit RAW and worrying about how I'm going to get there.

    I'm actually excited about it.
    Dennis Hingsberg


    1 out of 1 members found this post helpful.
    Reply With Quote
     

Page 6 of 10 FirstFirst ... 2345678910 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •