Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 37
  1. Collapse Details
    #21
    Director of Photography
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,659
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by jamedia.uk View Post
    Hopefully inthe next firmware update?
    Well, physically it only has HDMI out and USB-C out (which pushes video into a computer as a video source) designated for program output. Doesn't really leave much room for a multiview output. The HDMI is switchable between various outputs (program, preview, individual camera clean out) so they could add the multiviewer there--but then you are limited to the USB-C output for program and now it just lives inside the computer. Maybe if you add a BM Mini Monitor to the computer you can push the program feed back out via HDMI or SDI that way? Kind of convoluted and I would expect a little latency from that signal path.

    I'm not going to say this isn't klugy, but one could add an HDMI splitter on each source plus an HDMI multiviewer[/url] for around $150 plus cables.
    Last edited by CharlesPapert; 11-29-2019 at 07:27 AM.
    Charles Papert
    charlespapert.com


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #22
    Senior Member jamedia.uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Birmingham UK
    Posts
    599
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by CharlesPapert View Post
    Well, physically it only has HDMI out and USB-C out (which pushes video into a computer as a video source) designated for program output. Doesn't really leave much room for a multiview output. The HDMI is switchable between various outputs (program, preview, individual camera clean out) so they could add the multiviewer there--but then you are limited to the USB-C output for program and now it just lives inside the computer. Maybe if you add a BM Mini Monitor to the computer you can push the program feed back out via HDMI or SDI that way? Kind of convoluted and I would expect a little latency from that signal path.

    I'm not going to say this isn't klugy, but one could add an HDMI splitter on each source plus an [https://www.amazon.com/Multi-Viewer-...70&sr=8-7]HDMI multiviewer[/url] for around $150 plus cables.

    I was thinking split screen the monitor output to show the 4 camera inputs.


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #23
    Director of Photography
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,659
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by jamedia.uk View Post
    I was thinking split screen the monitor output to show the 4 camera inputs.
    Right, but there isn't a dedicated monitoring port other than the program output (and the USB-C output as noted above) (the Television Studio HD has a separate multiviewer port). So even if they added a multiviewer or quad viewer via firmware, you'd be giving up a crucial program output port for it.
    Charles Papert
    charlespapert.com


    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    3,641
    Default
    Yep, kind of makes the whole product klugy imho. It is great they are making cool things at attractive prices but if they do not have core functionality it should be marketed to the right people - gamers. BM is presenting this with a gray area around the preview which is a bit disingenuous. Maybe podcasters who never move a camera could make this work but you still want to make sure nobody is picking their nose etc... before you switch to them. You can pick different cameras to be in the HDMI out preview but pre-picking cameras before picking them does not sound efficient for anything live related and one man bands.

    Maybe if enough folks complain they will come up with a firmware solution but the price s pretty low to add anything substantial at this point.


    1 out of 1 members found this post helpful.
    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    3,641
    Default
    It would be useful if the HDMI output could be a multiview and then use the USB-C for your program. At this price point, the target is most likely going to be YouTube or Facebook anyway.


    1 out of 1 members found this post helpful.
    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #26
    Senior Member jamedia.uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Birmingham UK
    Posts
    599
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by Bassman2003 View Post
    It would be useful if the HDMI output could be a multiview and then use the USB-C for your program. At this price point, the target is most likely going to be YouTube or Facebook anyway.
    That is what I was assuming.

    I agree the "program out" is via the USB-C as a web cam,

    If you are looking at something other than streaming to Youtube and the like then you want XLR audio inputs, split screen monitor HDMI output and a HDMI program output and.... which is where the other higher priced BMD TAEM's come in.


    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    #27
    Senior Member jamedia.uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Birmingham UK
    Posts
    599
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by CharlesPapert View Post
    Right, but there isn't a dedicated monitoring port other than the program output (and the USB-C output as noted above) (the Television Studio HD has a separate multiviewer port). So even if they added a multiviewer or quad viewer via firmware, you'd be giving up a crucial program output port for it.

    The "program out" is the USB-C port as a web cam from what I can see of the marketing.
    The HDMI is shown as a monitoring port.


    Reply With Quote
     

  8. Collapse Details
    #28
    Director of Photography
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,659
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by jamedia.uk View Post
    The "program out" is the USB-C port as a web cam from what I can see of the marketing.
    The HDMI is shown as a monitoring port.
    It may be but I would think there would be a lot of users (houses of worship, live events with monitors for audience etc) that would use the HDMI as the program feed.

    I may try today to use an Ultrastudio in combination with the switcher connected via USB-C to see if video comes out the other end without latency.
    Charles Papert
    charlespapert.com


    Reply With Quote
     

  9. Collapse Details
    #29
    Senior Member jamedia.uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Birmingham UK
    Posts
    599
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by CharlesPapert View Post
    It may be but I would think there would be a lot of users (houses of worship, live events with monitors for audience etc) that would use the HDMI as the program feed.
    having just had a look at the ATEM Mini pages on BMD that is not in any of the workflows they envisaged it being used for.
    There is no scenario shown where the HDMI is used as a program out for an audience.

    Quote Originally Posted by CharlesPapert View Post
    I may try today to use an Ultrastudio in combination with the switcher connected via USB-C to see if video comes out the other end without latency.
    I am sure there will be a work around

    Perhaps the HDMI output from the PC to an audience screen but then you are looking at latency problems?

    OTOH you may need one of the other ATEMs that is designed for the usage you are thinking.


    Reply With Quote
     

  10. Collapse Details
    #30
    Director of Photography
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,659
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by jamedia.uk View Post
    having just had a look at the ATEM Mini pages on BMD that is not in any of the workflows they envisaged it being used for.
    There is no scenario shown where the HDMI is used as a program out for an audience.
    They do show and describe some workflows where the HDMI is being used as a program feed, i.e. to an outboard recorder.

    Quote Originally Posted by jamedia.uk View Post
    Perhaps the HDMI output from the PC to an audience screen but then you are looking at latency problems?
    Just tested that with the Quicktime player viewed full screen out via HDMI. About a second of delay. Not sure if there was signal deterioration due to processing. Obviously no good for live work, but possibly to an outboard recorder for later use.

    Quote Originally Posted by jamedia.uk View Post
    OTOH you may need one of the other ATEMs that is designed for the usage you are thinking.
    Actually the unit works just fine for my personal usage--I'm using it just for the chroma keyer in conjunction with an ATEM Television Studio HD, as I need to generate live keys and still be able to switch between inputs. So this will become an additional input to the main switcher. No problems there. I was just trying to pass on information for other people who were curious about it.
    Charles Papert
    charlespapert.com


    1 out of 1 members found this post helpful.
    Reply With Quote
     

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •