Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18
  1. Collapse Details
    #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    795
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by TheDingo View Post
    I know that many people do this and I have only heard of a few people screwing up their cameras by doing this, but it's common sense that you would shut down an electrical device before monkeying with live circuits.
    Really? Do you turn off your computer to connect a mouse?


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #12
    Senior Member stoneinapond's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    2,201
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by joe12south View Post
    Really? Do you turn off your computer to connect a mouse?
    Do you stick your finger into wall sockets?

    Silly right? So let's not mock someone for exercising caution when performing certain operations.


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Cleveland
    Posts
    230
    Default
    Thanks for all responds. It is not that BIG deal to buy an rxternal recorder but thank you for ideas.


    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    6,023
    Cool
    I am curious if any of the camera manufacturers have ever come out and said that changing electronic lenses while their cameras are powered on is ok ???


    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #15
    Senior Member stoneinapond's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    2,201
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by TheDingo View Post
    I am curious if any of the camera manufacturers have ever come out and said that changing electronic lenses while their cameras are powered on is ok ???
    I haven't seen it but it's possible. For me there is another issue. While changing lenses with a DSLR there is a big chunk of glass, the prism, covering the sensor. We don't have that with mirrorless cameras, so for the duration of the change the sensor is exposed. Don't know if there is any surface static, but it's another reason I turn off the camera. Maybe I'm a luddite, but so be it. I sleep well at night.....


    1 out of 1 members found this post helpful.
    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    437
    Default
    Interesting thread. I also do weddings. I used to religiously turn the cameras off while changing, until one day I did it without turning them off. Lo and behold, it worked.

    Since then, I've done it a hundred times on the GH4, GH2 and blackmagic pocket. All still work fine.

    So I suspect it's ok. It's *really* critical to be able to do this with live events.

    That said, I always pause the recording while changing.


    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    6,023
    Cool
    Quote Originally Posted by DBP View Post
    ...until one day I did it without turning them off. Lo and behold, it worked. Since then, I've done it a hundred times on the GH4, GH2 and blackmagic pocket. All still work fine.
    But what does Panasonic or Blackmagic say about this practice ?

    i.e. If Panasonic says you automatically void your camera warranty if you do this, do you keep doing it ?


    Reply With Quote
     

  8. Collapse Details
    #18
    Senior Member Thomas Smet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    1,801
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by TheDingo View Post
    But what does Panasonic or Blackmagic say about this practice ?

    i.e. If Panasonic says you automatically void your camera warranty if you do this, do you keep doing it ?
    I don't think any company has ever made a statement about such an act because it is a non issue. If there was a concern it would be in the manual or else they would get sued by somebody somewhere somehow.


    Reply With Quote
     

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •