Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. Collapse Details
    FS5 flickering problem
    #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    125
    Default
    I rented the FS5 a few weeks ago for the first time. Loved shooting with it. I am now however going through the footage and seems as though everything I shot in slowmo (60fps or more) has these awful flickering images all over. I uploaded an example for you to see what I'm talking about: https://youtu.be/MO2JNyA1584

    Anyone have any idea what is causing this?


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #2
    Totally Usable Mod Stephen Mick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    5,487
    Default
    What lens were you using? What camera settings?
    Stephen Mick
    Owner/Creative Director
    Skylark Creative

    weareskylark.com


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    125
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by Stephen Mick View Post
    What lens were you using? What camera settings?
    Nikkor ai-s lenses. They are mine, I've used them for years. Shot in Slog-3. 60fps, 120fps, 240fps.

    I only see the flickering in slow mo shots. Everything I did in 23.976fps looks fine.


    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    125
    Default
    I just checked some of the raw files and I don't see the flickering there. I'm guessing it's an issue with Premiere Pro CC and the codec the FS5 produces?


    1 out of 1 members found this post helpful.
    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #5
    Totally Usable Mod Stephen Mick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    5,487
    Default
    That's exactly the problem. I had the same issue when I first got my FS5. Be sure you've updated your CC to the latest version.
    Stephen Mick
    Owner/Creative Director
    Skylark Creative

    weareskylark.com


    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    195
    Default
    There is another thread on here which discusses this issue. In my experience it is a problem with prem cc with a specific subset of settings when using Slog. Specifically the s gamut options, the s gamut cines and regular picture profiles don't seem to be effected.

    Updating premiere hasn't resolved it. Most likely the only way around this is to transcode the footage in a different app before bringing into premiere.


    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    125
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by Stephen Mick View Post
    That's exactly the problem. I had the same issue when I first got my FS5. Be sure you've updated your CC to the latest version.
    Damn.
    It is updated, but I'm using the 30 day trial version. It's not limited in any way though. I don't know what to do.


    Reply With Quote
     

  8. Collapse Details
    #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    1,363
    Default
    High speed shooting causes flicker if you don't use the right lights. 60p shouldn't flicker unless you're using the wrong shutter speed.
    Sony NEX-FS700R | A7s | Odyssey 7Q+
    Sony SEL 50/1.8, 35/1.8, 18-105/4, FE 28-70 | Samyang 16, 35 & 85mm Cine
    MacBook Pro Retina 2.6/16/256 | macOS Sierra | FCPX | LPX


    Reply With Quote
     

  9. Collapse Details
    #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Minneapolis
    Posts
    1,096
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by dmitrizigany View Post
    High speed shooting causes flicker if you don't use the right lights. 60p shouldn't flicker unless you're using the wrong shutter speed.
    That was my first thought when I clicked the thread. But if you watch the video, it's just one sudden flicker in the middle of a slow motion shot. Sounds like it's a Premiere issue, though.
    Josh Becker
    www.joshbecker.net
    Now with 100% more Facebook!


    Reply With Quote
     

  10. Collapse Details
    #10
    Totally Usable Mod Stephen Mick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    5,487
    Default
    Agreed, Dmitri, but this isn't frame rate flicker. I've had this exact issue, and it was the Adobe Premiere Preview files that had the issue. When exported, the flicker shouldn't be there. Try cutting a simple sequence and exporting and see what happens.

    Also, try clearing out the preview files and re-rendering. That might also help.
    Stephen Mick
    Owner/Creative Director
    Skylark Creative

    weareskylark.com


    Reply With Quote
     

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •