Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234
Results 31 to 39 of 39
  1. Collapse Details
    #31
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    44
    Default
    In the C300 mark 2 1080p and 2K are downsampled from 4K exept for 120 fps. 1080 and 2K 60 fps are downsampled from 4K so it must be a way for the C300 Mark 2 to record 4K 60p internally. Maybe it might even be easier to record 4K 60p than 1080 60p.

    If a video camera like URSA Mini or Kinefinity TERRA can do it in RAW and in Prores, an EOS C must be able to do it too (!!!). Maybe Canon don't control their new XF-AVC completely yet (or it is a firmware limitation ...).
    Last edited by Michel Talaļa; 05-13-2016 at 04:49 AM.


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #32
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    362
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by Michel Talaļa View Post
    In the C300 mark 2 1080p and 2K are downsampled from 4K exept for 120 fps. 1080 and 2K 60 fps are downsampled from 4K so it must be a way for the C300 Mark 2 to record 4K 60p internally. Maybe it might even be easier to record 4K 60p than 1080 60p.

    If a video camera like URSA Mini or Kinefinity TERRA can do it in RAW and in Prores, an EOS C must be able to do it too (!!!). Maybe Canon don't control their new XF-AVC completely yet (or it is a firmware limitation ...).
    Makes sense re: readout speed. I suppose it comes down to data rate, then. If the C300m2 keeps the same per-frame data rate of 410mb/s at 30p, The camera would have to put through 820mb/s at 60p. Though I suppose they could make a 410bps 60p, sacrificing per-frame data. Not like 410bps is particularly low.

    For reference: the FS7 maintains a consistent per-frame data rate in 4k (about 10mb/frame, for 600mb/s at 60p and 240mb/s at 24p). It's not a bad approach, because there's no quality loss when changing frame rate, but no quality gain for staying in standard speed either.

    I guess the real question mark is whether Canon would do something like that. Allow 4k60p. There's no historical precedent to my knowledge that they will enable such a huge functionality for free. There was DAF back in the C300m1 days, but that was a paid upgrade.


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #33
    Bronze Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    292
    Default
    Any news on this?


    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #34
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Posts
    537
    Default
    "Late July".


    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #35
    Bronze Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    292
    Default
    Last edited by lovecameras; 06-02-2016 at 11:05 PM.


    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #36
    Bronze Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    292
    Default
    Just attempted to update the firmware, did all as instructed, no completed message came up, the camera switched off and the card and tally lights stay on, nothing works or operates!! What the f*** have you done Canon!!!


    0 out of 1 members found this post helpful.
    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    #37
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    164
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by Michel Talaļa View Post
    1080 and 2K 60 fps are downsampled from 4K so it must be a way for the C300 Mark 2 to record 4K 60p internally. Maybe it might even be easier to record 4K 60p than 1080 60p.
    Keep in mind the camera also can't do 2K 12 Bit 444 in 60P, so there must be some hardware limitation as I can't see them purposely limiting that, as people are suggesting they may have for the 4K 60P.

    I don't see them stunting a product that dramatically on purpose. 60P 4K is becoming a tier 1 requirement for a lot of networks and that's keeping a lot of people from shooting Mark II.


    Reply With Quote
     

  8. Collapse Details
    #38
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Posts
    537
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by Macaholic View Post
    60P 4K is becoming a tier 1 requirement for a lot of networks and that's keeping a lot of people from shooting Mark II.
    The C300 MKIII will be here in ~2.5 years and it will have 4k60p, and there still won't be any 4K broadcasts (other than tests).
    Last edited by Matt Turner; 06-04-2016 at 01:57 AM.


    Reply With Quote
     

  9. Collapse Details
    #39
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    164
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by Matt Turner View Post
    The C300 MKIII will be here in ~2.5 years and it will have 4k60p, and there still won't be any 4K broadcasts (other than tests).
    100% totally true. But that doesn't stop these networks from requiring it on productions shooting today.

    Same mentality of having all Netflix original series shoot 4096 instead of 3840...ugh...


    Reply With Quote
     

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •