Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. Collapse Details
    Anyone here have an Atomos Shogun and the Sony FDR-AX100?
    #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    3
    Default
    If you have this combination, can you confirm whether the AX100 can output an uncompressed clean 4K UHD signal to the Atomos Shogun external 4K recorder? If so, can you confirm whether it's 8-bit 4:2:2 or 8-bit 4:2:0?


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    12
    Default
    I have a Shogun and should have access to an AX100 in about a week. I'll likely forget, but if you send me a PM to remind me then I should be able to check.


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #3
    Junior Member norm1153's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    4
    Default
    Have either of you discovered if this is possible? Also, I have been led to believe that the AX100 HDMI output is turned off when the camcorder itself is recording...


    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #4
    Bronze Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    896
    Default
    The AX100 outputs a clean uncompressed 4K output through HDMI that's 4:2:2 and 8bit, and you can record that signal to the Shogun. However, as soon as you press record on the camera body itself, the shogun screen turns to grey.

    So yes it does output a clean recordable 8bit 4:2:2 4K signal but just doesn't record internally at the same time.

    It's not really a problem just remember to press record on the shogun unit itself.


    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #5
    Bronze Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    896
    Default
    Oh and for those concerned this would not allow usage of external monitors whilst shooting internally on the AX100, don't be, it can output an HD signal while recording 4K internally, just not 4K. The HD signal is perfectly clear and sharp for monitoring purposes.


    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    5
    Default
    I've go AX100 and Atomos Shogun. However I can only get 1080p 50fps out of the AX100 external HDMI, even when it is set to record 4k. I am set to 100Mbps. Any ideas why not 4k external?


    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    7,512
    Default
    Check your HDMI cable, HDMI output settings (auto vs. manual), and resolution/framerates. And any firmware updates (Sony and/or Atomos).

    One or all of the above should fix your problem.


    Reply With Quote
     

  8. Collapse Details
    #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Ottawa , Canada
    Posts
    709
    Default
    I have an AX100 and works correctly with my Ninja V.


    Reply With Quote
     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •