Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst 12345678 LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 80
  1. Collapse Details
    #41
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    2,269
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by Danilo Del Tufo View Post
    What is your configuration for editing on Mac?
    I edit with Premiere and grade with DaVinci Resolve (mostly S-LOG 4K XAVC-I or Sony 4K RAW) using the following configuration:

    15" MacBook Pro (mid 2014 model)
    16GB RAM / 2.7 GHz processor

    24" Apple Cinema Display
    17" Sony OLED broadcast monitor via HDSDI
    40" Sony Bravia monitor via HDMI
    Leader LV-5330 Waveform monitor / vectorscope via HDSDI
    Blackmagic Design UltraStudio 4K Thunderbolt 2 (or a UltraStudio Mini if I am traveling)
    4TB OWC Thunderbolt SSD (or smaller SSD if I am traveling)


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #42
    Senior Member Danilo Del Tufo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Naples (Italy)
    Posts
    942
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by Doug Jensen View Post
    I edit with Premiere and grade with DaVinci Resolve (mostly S-LOG 4K XAVC-I or Sony 4K RAW) using the following configuration:

    15" MacBook Pro (mid 2014 model)
    16GB RAM / 2.7 GHz processor

    24" Apple Cinema Display
    17" Sony OLED broadcast monitor via HDSDI
    40" Sony Bravia monitor via HDMI
    Leader LV-5330 Waveform monitor / vectorscope via HDSDI
    Blackmagic Design UltraStudio 4K Thunderbolt 2 (or a UltraStudio Mini if I am traveling)
    4TB OWC Thunderbolt SSD (or smaller SSD if I am traveling)
    So do you think the upcoming iMac Pro will fit the editing process at base configuration of 4.999$?
    https://www.behance.net/DaniloDelTufo



    Camera:
    ---------
    Canon EOS C200, HPX170

    Lenses:
    ---------
    Canon 24-105mm f/4L IS II USM
    EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS NANO USM with Power Zoom Adapter PZ-E1
    EF 50MM f/1.4 USM STANDARD
    EF-S 24mm f2.8 STM

    Workstation:
    ---------
    iMac Pro - 2.5GHz 14-core Intel Xeon W processor, Turbo Boost up to 4.3GHz
    128GB 2666MHz DDR4 ECC memory
    4TB SSD
    Radeon Pro Vega 64 with 16GB of HBM2 memory


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #43
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    2,269
    Default
    I don't know anything at all about the new iMac Pro and I won't be buying one, no matter what it offers, because I prefer the portability of my two identical MacBook Pros. But as an Apple stock holder, I hope they sell a million of them! :-)


    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #44
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    249
    Default
    You can edit with just 16GB of memory? Damn, on my machine (running window7) I need
    at least 64G or the PC (with adobe Premiere) just hang whenever I edit 4K XAVC-I


    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #45
    Bronze Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1,438
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by Danilo Del Tufo View Post
    So do you think the upcoming iMac Pro will fit the editing process at base configuration of 4.999$?
    As I learnt in another thread from Joema the iMac Pro may NOT be the best choice for editing XAVC. The reason is that Intel I7s have QuickSync which accelerates H264 editing but the 8 core+ Xeons do no so you may find the normal fully loaded iMac better than the iMac Pro.

    So if you edit a lot of h264 and future h265 you may want to check out the iMac Pro performance with these media types before spending a wedge.


    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #46
    Bronze Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1,438
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by jpham View Post
    You can edit with just 16GB of memory? Damn, on my machine (running window7) I need
    at least 64G or the PC (with adobe Premiere) just hang whenever I edit 4K XAVC-I
    I've cut 20 minute 4k pieces on my MBP with 16GB in various hotel rooms with no effort at all.


    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    #47
    Senior Member jasonbrooks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    London & Stroud, UK
    Posts
    322
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by Nirv View Post
    I've cut 20 minute 4k pieces on my MBP with 16GB in various hotel rooms with no effort at all.
    Likewise, 4K editing is definitely possible on my MBP system with 'only' 16GB of RAM. I can think of three reasons off the top of my head that might be limiting your experience, @jpham:

    - Not taking advantage of a 'low' res viewer system, such as the 1/2, 1/4, or even 1/8 mode in the Program window in Premiere Pro.
    - Not having a graphics card in your Windows7 system. This is much more important than either CPU speed or RAM capacity.
    - Not having a fast, dedicated media drive. Ideally SSD, but 7200 rotational drives in RAID could work. Ideally thunderbolt, but USB3 will also work.

    What system are you running on exactly @jpham?

    jason
    ----------------
    Freelance Site: www.Opticalism.com/jason
    Company Site: www.Opticalism.com
    Vimeo: https://vimeo.com/jasonbrooks/videos
    Africa Blog: www.Opticalism.com/travels

    Sum Ergo Edo.


    Reply With Quote
     

  8. Collapse Details
    #48
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    NJ / NYC
    Posts
    340
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by jasonbrooks View Post
    Likewise, 4K editing is definitely possible on my MBP system with 'only' 16GB of RAM. I can think of three reasons off the top of my head that might be limiting your experience, @jpham:

    - Not taking advantage of a 'low' res viewer system, such as the 1/2, 1/4, or even 1/8 mode in the Program window in Premiere Pro.
    - Not having a graphics card in your Windows7 system. This is much more important than either CPU speed or RAM capacity.
    - Not having a fast, dedicated media drive. Ideally SSD, but 7200 rotational drives in RAID could work. Ideally thunderbolt, but USB3 will also work.

    jason
    +1 On these. SSD media drives make a huge difference.
    And also make sure you have updated drivers for your video card ! (And make sure your NLE is properly configured to use your CUDA card for hardware acceleration...)


    Reply With Quote
     

  9. Collapse Details
    #49
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    249
    Default
    I have a super fast machine. It's a custom build Xeon with 28 cores, GPUs
    The editing is fast - it starts to run really slow when I turn on sharpening/unsharp mask, or initial opening a slog project, or load a LUT into lumetri color correction
    or when I put tittle across 15+ clips - then the machine crawl to halt (pop up system manager) and
    I see Adobe is sucking all the memories.
    In case you wonder what's the rendering time - a 20Min 4K SLOG3 renders in about 2hrs to H264
    1080p we achieve 1hr = 1hr rendering time.

    system.jpg
    Last edited by jpham; 07-10-2017 at 03:14 PM.


    Reply With Quote
     

  10. Collapse Details
    #50
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Missoula Montana
    Posts
    983
    Default
    I use editready. I can add a LUT I can create a Luted copy of the log footage in the field.


    Reply With Quote
     

Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst 12345678 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •