Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 30 of 30
  1. Collapse Details
    #21
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by nyvz View Post
    Well yeah, RAW... and for bayer-originated images, storing as raw bayer will always be more efficient. Prores is 422 or 444 which wastes 2-3x the space on interpolated luma and color data. Not to mention the flexibility of RAW, RAW development, and non-destructive metadata controls. Prores bakes in debayer algorithm, whitebalance, gamma, etc and takes up 2-3x the space for a more wasteful and less flexible container. It's also generally much easier to do highlight recovery on RAW. That said, for a lot of productions, Prores is just fine and generally an easier and more well adopted workflow as long as the RAW processing and transcoding is done properly.
    +1
    Alex
    http://DataBoss.me - the easiest way to save, then easily find your data (photos, videos, any data) without tagging every file


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    990
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by nyvz View Post
    Well yeah, RAW... and for bayer-originated images (pretty much every photographic digital image these days), storing as raw bayer will always be more efficient. Prores is 422 or 444 which wastes 2-3x the space on interpolated luma and color data. Not to mention the flexibility of RAW, RAW development, and non-destructive metadata controls. Prores bakes in debayer algorithm, whitebalance, gamma, etc and takes up 2-3x the space for a more wasteful and less flexible container. It's also generally much easier to do highlight recovery on RAW. That said, for a lot of productions, Prores is just fine and generally an easier and more well adopted workflow as long as the RAW processing and transcoding is done properly.
    Great, thanks. So it maintains all/most of the features of RAW but with less file size, sounds good to me. Do they sell just the codec for apps like Premiere and Resolve or you buy that Go Pro Studio thing?


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    184
    Default
    4k prores on the odyssey 4:2:2 or better yet 4:4:4 should come first.


    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    6,100
    Default
    Guys, I don't know how else to say this again. This (CineformRAW on the Odyssey7Q) is not going to happen. Certainly not in any timeline that any of you would be interested in.
    Mitch Gross
    Cinema Product Manager
    Panasonic Media Entertainment Corporation


    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #25
    Member GREEN_RANGER's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    58
    Default
    From what i understand, Gopro are willing to supply the SDK for manufacturers that require it. I was advised by someone at convergent design when i called them 2-3 weeks ago that they would have to develop the software from scratch to work with the recorder and that will require sometime due to man power and the scale of the project let alone what other tasks they already have on their to do list. From what I remember, the guy said it could be roughly around a years worth of work. Provided that its possible for the 7Q to produce cineform raw files, I'd glady utilise the currently available codecs in the meantime and wait a year for cineform to be available if it would save me space and processing power!!
    Mitch, is it possible for the 7Q to produce cineform raw, even if it takes 1-2 years to come out?


    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #26
    Senior Member nyvz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    2,154
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by Mitch Gross View Post
    Guys, I don't know how else to say this again. This (CineformRAW on the Odyssey7Q) is not going to happen. Certainly not in any timeline that any of you would be interested in.
    Yeah copy that, makes sense and cineform never really caught on so it probably makes sense not to work too hard to support it.

    how about compressed DNG like blackmagic cameras are using?
    Noah Yuan-Vogel
    http://www.noahyv.com


    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    #27
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    6,100
    Default
    I don't believe we have room inside the Odyssey7Q for that.
    Mitch Gross
    Cinema Product Manager
    Panasonic Media Entertainment Corporation


    Reply With Quote
     

  8. Collapse Details
    #28
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    1,717
    Default
    The biggest issue is you'd be recompressing. I thought the whole point of CinemaDNG and being uncompressed is that we don't make the image any worse than it is from the compressed RAW out of the camera.

    I've used cineform for years, it has it's oddities but is a solid codec. It's the best cross-platform mezzanine codec (12 bit 444) around.

    But i wouldn't want the O7Q doing cineform RAW because it would add it's own compression artefacts to an image which has plenty anyway (and that RAW does have it's artefacts, some quite weird as well, especially in noise)

    We've been through it before but ideally we'd want Sony RAW saved, as it is, direct to the SSD. But that's not possible from past discussions on here.

    Personally i think it would be possible to produce a 4K ProRes 12 bit file from the RAW that maintained the raw image data (the green bias for example) in a way that kept the benefits of RAW developing but in a compressed container. It would be a pain to work with afterwards but you'd not loose anything in that conversion. I wonder if this is possible?

    cheers
    Paul
    ------------------------
    twitter.com/inventome
    lastest post : The truth about LUTs http://blog.inventome.com/Blog/2016/...uth-about-LUTs


    Reply With Quote
     

  9. Collapse Details
    #29
    Default
    Compressed or UNcompressed RAW DNG to Cineform RAW, ProRes, DNxHD, H264 video.
    http://XactCopi.com offers teh newest version of R4P EASY. Floating license, Internet connection no longer required.
    Please note, the discount code expires Nov 20th, so please use it now.
    (update Nov 21st: coupon expired.)
    Last edited by PrimeHD; 11-21-2017 at 05:28 AM.
    Alex
    http://DataBoss.me - the easiest way to save, then easily find your data (photos, videos, any data) without tagging every file


    Reply With Quote
     

  10. Collapse Details
    #30
    Default
    Just a quick note, RAW 4 PRO will no longer be offered in just a few days. Blackout date: Jan 25th 2018.
    But R4P Easy users who purchased their licenses up to that date will be fine - the EASY version will work indefinitely.

    If you'd like to get one while still available, I'm offering a 55% off discount to the readers of this forum till Jan 20th. Just click here, then enter promo code: bmr55

    Thank you for reading.
    Alex
    http://DataBoss.me - the easiest way to save, then easily find your data (photos, videos, any data) without tagging every file


    Reply With Quote
     

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •