1. Collapse Details
    Tragic Lantern with T3i/600D for 16Gb files and audio issue
    Magic Lantern is great, so is Tragic Lantern. With T3i/600D and some versions of Tragic Lantern it's possible to shoot 16Gb files, which is great. Alas, to my experience, TL with 16Gb files works fine, as long as you don't record audio with the video. Though I have external audio recorder (actually 2, Tascam DR-40 and Tascam DR-60D), I need audio in the camera for sync in editing. I edit myself my movies and not being an experienced editor, I need the audio in the camera. It seems to me that the audio issue with TL and 16Gb files is inherent in TL, since no matter what settings I put in TL, when recording also audio, recording stops after few seconds. Did anyone manage to have 16Gb files with audio in camera?

2. Collapse Details
    Well, in a pinch you can use a slate & clapper. If your takes aren't unusually long, you can synch that way just fine. I've had 3-camera editing gigs where they forgot to record the synch sound for one or more cameras, and with a clapper you can do it faster than having audio and no clapper. Only PluralEyes is faster than that. You need to be organized and keep your take numbering accurate... it's really smart to assign someone that gig.

And man, people LOVE working the clapper...

3. Collapse Details
    Quote Originally Posted by Michael Carter View Post
    Well, in a pinch you can use a slate & clapper... You need to be organized and keep your take numbering accurate... it's really smart to assign someone that gig.

And man, people LOVE working the clapper...
    PRODUCTION SLATE

Don't leave home without it. It is the single easiest way to work with non-sync, second-system sound.
    Nobody notices audio... until it's not there.

Find Me on Instagram

4. Collapse Details
    Hi Michael and Alex,
    Thank you.