Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. Collapse Details
    Sound Devices 702 Dual recording
    #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    9
    Default
    Planning on purchasing a SD 702, just wondering if it has a dual recording feature/function similar to of Tascam DR60-D's? Recording to two separate files simultaneously, both set to different audio levels.

    Thanks!


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    9,665
    Default
    Don't think so. You might be able to sort a Y cable into it.


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    6,980
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by polay14 View Post
    PRecording to two separate files simultaneously, both set to different audio levels.
    I'm pretty sure it doesn't, but then there's really no need for this at the Sound Devices recorder has a noise-floor that is 20-30 dB lower than the Tascam does, so you just have to set lower recording levels with the SD recorder without running the risk of hitting the recorder's own noise-floor. In other words, while you might set your audio peaks to -12 dB for the Tascam unit, while you could set your audio peaks to -30 dB on the Sound Devices recorder and still run no risk of hitting the noise-floor of the SD recorder. ( the Tascam's own noise-floor would prevent you from setting -30 dB audio peaks, as it would destroy any audio at the noise-floor audio level )


    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    9,665
    Default
    Indeed I was going to add a similar comment - with the 702 you rarely clip or get sound close to the noise floor.

    It certainly doesnt do two tracks to one internally - I asked the same question to SD support here is their answer verbatim..

    "I would take the output of your mic to a split XLR cable to allow for
    Two track recording."




    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    376
    Default
    Use the TA3 'mix' o/p of the SD302 for a 2nd output..........Thats what its there for.
    http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...ces_442_Y.html
    Last edited by OzGizmo; 05-24-2014 at 04:08 AM.


    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    9
    Default
    Thanks guys that was very helpful


    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    #7
    Senior Member Rick R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Planet X
    Posts
    2,449
    Default
    The 702 has two channels.. period. The target market are pros who know how to set levels.
    If there's only one mic, split to both channels/tracks and run the 'safety' channel 6 to 12dB lower. Confirm the limiters are engaged.
    The TA3 > XLR adapter wouldn't be of much use in this scenario.


    Reply With Quote
     

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •