Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. Collapse Details
    best 2 camera option for around $2500?
    I am a videographer that does photography as a hobby. I currently own a Panasonic GH2 and a GH3. I chose the Panasonic GH series because I love not having a recording limit and they do not overheat and shut off. I have been getting questions from my clients why I cant get the shallow depth of field as your average youtuber, and I realized its because the Panasonic line just doesnt cut it. Sharp images but just doesnt stand out on youtube as your average 12 year old with a t3i.

So i am thinking of selling my gear and going one of 2 options. I do video first but also enjoy photography, and I know either option would be fine for photography.

so option 1:
    2 Canon 70d's. 2 of the same camera would make my life easier and probably look more professional. I wouldnt have to worry as much about matching footage in post either. Just need to know if this camera has a recording limit or overheats? I had a Canon 7d in the past which over heated, had to be restarted every 12 minutes and ruined me on a couple shoots when it overheated and wouldnt turn back for the rest of the shoot. Is the 70d improved from this?

Option 2:
    Either a Canon 5d Mark ii with a T3i/T4i or something similar
    or
    Canon 6d with the T3i/T4i or something similar/cheap.
    I cant find which would give better video between the 5dmii or the 6d.

Some of you may say to stick with the GH cameras. If these canon cameras will all over heat or not be able to break the recording limit I may have to. But I would like that extra shallow depth of field and something a little better for photography. I didnt notice much of a difference between my GH3 and Canon 7d video wise, but mixing my gh3 with a friends 5dmii was not even useable because the 5d was so much better.