Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Collapse Details
    Moving over from PP
    Yesterday I downloaded Media Composer 7. I have restarted my Lynda.com account and am pouring through some tutorials. So far so good. I have been an Adobe Premiere Pro user for the past 3 years and am looking to move over. I do editing, color grading, compositing and dialog editing primarily. I also do a little scoring.

What should I be looking for in MC as it compares to PP? I like After Effects and Audition in PP. What are the significant differences and what, if any, functionality could I lose/gain? What's easier/more difficult? What about primary and secondary color correction in MC as compared to PP? Is there a significant integration with ProTools and should I invest in that as well, while I'm at it?

Anyone else making this transition? What are the differences and how do they compare?

2. Collapse Details
    First let me say that I learned to edit on an Avid, now have 2 licensed MC7 systems running on PCs. So my perspective is firmly from an Avid standpoint. However, I also have Premiere Pro cs6 on my Windows 8 laptop.

For me
    my MC's are more robust and solid. While the PP CS6 system works fine for me- it always feels like a "toy". [Take one look at the "page turn" transition, and you'll know what I mean]. I use the PP CS6 system edit power point slides to seminars and other easy edits, my MC7's for corporate video & tv spots. I have a buddy who produces really nice corporate stuff using only PP CS6 [He moved from FCP]. But its nothing I couldn't do on my MC's.