Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27
  1. Collapse Details
    GH3 corrupted clip! Let me down of first shoot.
    #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    234
    Angry
    Took out my 2 day old GH3 for her maiden voyage and unfortunately she let me down! Was shooting some speeches and towards the end of the evening I noticed that the camera had turned itself off. So I turned the camera off and back on again and though nothing of it. Well it appears the clip I was shooting at the time is now corrupt and I don't want to pay $100 for that German program G2 or something like that to repair it.

    So what happened, I had plenty of battery and was using the battery grip too?? Panny battery in camera and clone battery in grip. Never had this happen even with my hacked GH2 or my HMC40 in 5 yeas of shooting. Perhaps DSLRs are not up to the task for long form 1 hour or so of recording at a time but this clip was no more than about 14 mins, perhaps it crapped out when it was spanning. THis is very disconcerting and makes me nervous about using this camera in the future.


    So any idea what happened, i was shooting with an Olympus lens but even taking the lens off while recording only causes it camera to stop not totally crap out. The clip is corrupted not the card so all other footage is OK. Perhaps the clone batteries are not liked by the camera?
    ==========
    Regards
    Richard
    (DVX member since 2004 but still learning)
    Jacana Productions
    http://www.jacanaproductions.com


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #2
    Senior Member Bern Caughey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    4,234
    Default
    Some questions...

    Is your GH3's firmware up-to-date?

    What recording mode & codec were you using?

    Which SD card were you using & what are it's specs? UHS-1?


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    234
    Default
    Ok so I don't have the latest firmware just 1.1, good point. I also am running a fast card class 10 32MB/s sandisk extreme but don't see the UH-1 designation. I was shooting in 24p intra 70mbps when the crash happened.
    ==========
    Regards
    Richard
    (DVX member since 2004 but still learning)
    Jacana Productions
    http://www.jacanaproductions.com


    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #4
    Senior Member Bern Caughey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    4,234
    Default
    Panasonic specs Class 10 USH-1 cards for that codec.

    Also...

    http://www.dvxuser.com/V6/showthread...post1986359621
    Last edited by Bern Caughey; 09-29-2013 at 02:06 PM.


    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #5
    Senior Member stoneinapond's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    2,371
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by thabo View Post
    Perhaps the clone batteries are not liked by the camera?
    That gets my vote. Sorry for your misfortune.


    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    234
    Default
    Ok updated firmware and $200 SD card! Hopefully she'll not crash again!
    ==========
    Regards
    Richard
    (DVX member since 2004 but still learning)
    Jacana Productions
    http://www.jacanaproductions.com


    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    #7
    Senior Member Bruce Foreman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    San Angelo Texas
    Posts
    1,000
    Default
    Pay attention to post #4 above. Bern Caughey has good advice.


    Reply With Quote
     

  8. Collapse Details
    #8
    Default
    Hmm...I suspect the spec of the card isn't the culprit. Something similar happen to me a about a month ago. Like you, I was shooting with a battery in both the camera and the battery grip and the camera just randomly turns off. I had to remove and reattach the battery grip before it would power on again. The clip I was recording wouldn't play back in camera and was just marked as '?'. Fortunately, when I popped my SD card into my computer, the clip played back fine on there. Probably a silly question, but have you actually tried to play the clip back on your computer?


    Reply With Quote
     

  9. Collapse Details
    #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    234
    Default
    Looks like my camera turned off again with my nice 95MB/s scandisk 64gig card. Not sure what is going on here and i was shooting in 50Mbps 24p mode.
    ==========
    Regards
    Richard
    (DVX member since 2004 but still learning)
    Jacana Productions
    http://www.jacanaproductions.com


    Reply With Quote
     

  10. Collapse Details
    #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Charlottesville, Va
    Posts
    436
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by Mike Lorushe View Post
    Hmm...I suspect the spec of the card isn't the culprit. Something similar happen to me a about a month ago. Like you, I was shooting with a battery in both the camera and the battery grip and the camera just randomly turns off. I had to remove and reattach the battery grip before it would power on again. The clip I was recording wouldn't play back in camera and was just marked as '?'. Fortunately, when I popped my SD card into my computer, the clip played back fine on there. Probably a silly question, but have you actually tried to play the clip back on your computer?
    I have had this same issue:
    http://www.dvxuser.com/V6/showthread...Attack-Tonight

    But don't expect it to be repaired:
    http://www.dvxuser.com/V6/showthread...er-experienced


    Reply With Quote
     

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •