Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. Collapse Details
    Atomos Ninja2 with HMC150?
    #1
    Senior Member accelv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Jax FL
    Posts
    131
    Default
    Is anybody using this combo to extend the life and quality of the 150? Can I use the Ninja to record 1080p 60? Pros and Cons?


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,867
    Default
    I'm curious as well.
    I'm don't think you can get 1080 60p because unless im wrong, neither the camera nor the recorder can do it.

    I'm curious if it helps significantly with keying.
    And secondly improving a little detail in wide shots in 1080, as well as giving a little more latitude to push the levels in post.


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Charlottesville, va
    Posts
    2,514
    Default
    HDMI doesn't do 1080p60, AFAIK, which is fine because the HMC doesn't do 1080p60.

    I have a HMC150 and Ninja 2 and I have used them together... pro is that you can bypass AVCHD compression and record in 422 color space (which should help keying and grading), con is that you've got an extra bit of encumbrance. The Ninja doesn't seem to affect sharpness and detail levels. The combo doesn't get used together very often because I simply haven't needed it.


    1 out of 1 members found this post helpful.
    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,867
    Default
    Thank you. Does it help on those wide shots that tend to get mushy and when there are a lot of pixels changing like an outdoor scene with trees blowing and steam? Didn't know if that's an AVCHD thing or simply the resolution limits of the camera.


    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Charlottesville, va
    Posts
    2,514
    Default
    Yes, it does alleviate some macroblocking problems on high detail, high movement shots


    1 out of 1 members found this post helpful.
    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,867
    Default
    Great. Thank you, mcbob. I was already planning on getting one, and you answered what I was still wondering.

    accelv, I'm sorry it doesn't accomplish what your original post was about - accomplishing 1080 60P.


    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    #7
    Senior Member accelv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Jax FL
    Posts
    131
    Default
    Thanks. The other advantage is that it records to Pro Res so there's no ingest and (I assume) you can run a simultaneous backup on AVCHD. So to get 1080p60 you need to record HDSDI?

    The JVC 650U records right to ProRes or XDCAM and offer a 23x lens, WIFI transmission and live streaming,and dual slots. Time for a change?


    Reply With Quote
     

  8. Collapse Details
    #8
    Default
    No. Short answer -- you can't record 1080/60p on any external recorder yet, that I can think of. It doesn't exist. It can never happen over HD-SDI, as HD-SDI doesn't have the bandwidth. It would require 3G-SDI. The Ninja, the Samurai, the Pix, the Nano, the Shuttle, none of them can record 1080/60p at all (unless I'm mistaken).

    The Odyssey7Q could record 1080/60p but it's not out yet. Even then, you'd need a camera that can output 1080/60p. Not many can, and those that do, as of now, only do so over their HDMI ports.


    Reply With Quote
     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •