Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Collapse Details
    T3i - Lens Advice
    Hey, so I have a Canon T3i with the 50mm f/1.8 and I'm looking at some other lens to purchase. The types of films that I work with vary, but I currently do some interviews and short stories, and am experimenting with other types as well. I'm a perspective film student at a college and so don't have a large lens budget at the moment, but any information as to the quality and value of these lens will be much appreciated!

Canon EF 40mm f/2.8 STM Lens - $149
    Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM Lens - $369

I've heard that Cine Lens are worth their weight, but like I said, I can't go around buying those expensive Canon or Zeiss Cine Lens. I've found a few other brands that make fairly cheap cine lens, though I haven't heard much about these brands:

Samyang 14mm T3.1 Cine Lens - $449
    Rokinon 14mm T3.1 Cine Lens - $449
    Rokinon 35mm T1.5 Cine Lens - $549
    Samyang 85mm T1.5 Cine Lens - $349
    Rokinon 85mm T1.5 Cine Lens - $349

Finishing off my questions, do I really need an expensive UV filter? It seems all it does is protect the lens from scratches and remove some glare.
    Last edited by iamlance; 05-14-2013 at 10:52 AM.

2. Collapse Details
    If you are on a limited budget get a Tamron 17-50 2.8 non vc. Great and sharp lens on a tight budget. Cine primes are great if you have cash for a set. If you have a 50mm already you will need at least 2 of the primes in your list to cover the range. good luck and have fun with the camera.
    Michael Rockmore

3. Collapse Details
    * the canon 40mm is a great lens, but basically useless for video: the focus ring is a nightmare (small, ackward, and, being fly-by-wire, with a mind of its own)