Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. Collapse Details
    1DC: Smooth playback on a PC
    #1
    Senior Member jaket's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    170
    Default
    I'm trying to nail down a workflow for my 1DC 4k footage, but I'm finding very little info on editing the footage with smooth playback on a PC. On the Mac side of things I'm reading that you can convert to Prores and get smooth playback, with a fast enough raid.

    So I figured that I'd start a thread with what I've figured out and hopefully get some other people talking.

    Our main edit system is as follows

    -i7 2.9ghz
    -GTX460 x2
    -7200rpm system drive
    -Raid 0 edit drive (x3-2TB sata 7200rpm)
    -Windows 7 pro 64bit
    -Premiere Pro CS5.5

    The 4k files off the camera playback choppy in everything except the EOS Movie Utility 1DC.
    I'm guessing that I'll need to transcode to something else at the end of the day, but I don't know what yet.

    Any advice or suggestion that can add to the conversation would be appreciated.


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    801
    Default
    Maybe try installing a different motion jpeg decoder?

    http://www.medialooks.com/products/c...g_decoder.html


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    2,450
    Default
    How much ram do you have?


    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #4
    Senior Member jaket's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    170
    Default
    I'll try out that decoder tomorrow, thanks.
    16gigs


    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #5
    Senior Member marvinhello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    GTA, Canada
    Posts
    886
    Default
    Transcode to Cineform 10bit YUV422


    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    toronto
    Posts
    545
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by marvinhello View Post
    Transcode to Cineform 10bit YUV422
    Whats the advantage of Cineform 10bit over Prores?
    Or is it simple the case that Prores is not available on the PC?


    Reply With Quote
     

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •