Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 45
  1. Collapse Details
    #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    1,285
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by starcentral View Post
    But in terms of high speed frame rates, yes, it does seem the FS700 will do double the frame rates available on the F5 & the F55. lol
    With the FS700, at high speed frame rates, bear in mind it comes at the expense of halving the resolution both vertically and horizontally. Even so, it's still pretty good, which is why you don't get lots of complaints about it, but it wouldn't be good enough for a camera in the market the F5 is intended for. Sorry, you never get anything for nothing!

    As far as dynamic range, then it has to be remembered the human eye only has a dynamic range *AT ANY ONE TIME* of about 7 stops. When you look at a scene with a far higher dynamic range your eyes don't take it all in at the same time. They are constantly moving about the scene and sliding that 7 stops according to what is being looked at - without your being aware of it.

    Use a camera and the eyes can't do that. The image presented to them has to be compressed in dynamic range terms - which is why 8 bit video is totally sufficient for normal video recording. (And stills, for that matter.)

    Trouble is, it relies on the camera deciding at the time exactly how it will reduce the range - and once done, the scope for altering it becomes far more limited. And that's what things like higher bit depth and s-log etc (let alone RAW) offer. The chance to make the decision later, in post, as to how you reduce something 12 stops to less than 8.

    Which is why 10 bit in isolation doesn't really bring much of a benefit unless it's being used to record a signal that it can do justice to - one with a far greater "burnt-in" dynamic range. And one which will actually need post manipulation - the equivalent of your eyes moving around the scene and deciding what is the best presentation at any one time.


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    341
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by harddrive View Post
    With the FS700, at high speed frame rates, bear in mind it comes at the expense of halving the resolution both vertically and horizontally. Even so, it's still pretty good, which is why you don't get lots of complaints about it, but it wouldn't be good enough for a camera in the market the F5 is intended for. Sorry, you never get anything for nothing!.
    The resolution is halved only when shooting higher than 240 FPS. At 240 fps it's full HD. With the firmware upgrade it would be 2K at 240 FPS. I don't think F5 can do 240 fps 2K, though F55 has that capability planned in future firmware (F55 can't do it right now either but will sometimes later this year).

    F700 after the firmware upgrade would also be able to do 120 fps in 4K resolution in 4 sec burst mode. The F series cameras can't do that (not even in future firmware road map). So it's fair to say that FS700 has better burst mode than F series, especially better than F5
    Last edited by evilthought; 04-13-2013 at 12:54 AM.


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #23
    Senior Member KINOKS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    EU / Slovenia
    Posts
    908
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by evilthought View Post
    The resolution is halved only when shooting higher than 240 FPS. At 240 fps it's full HD.
    Yes, but does it use all of it's pixels for slowmo or does it pixel or line skip or something...? Doesn't it?
    Sanjin Švajger


    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #24
    Senior Member KINOKS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    EU / Slovenia
    Posts
    908
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by Sumfun View Post
    It's unclear if you can just get the Slog2 upgrade without the 4k upgrade.
    Thx! This is what I'm interested. If Slog could be had without the hardware upgrade. But seeing how it will be made to run with the different hardware I don't think it's going to work without it...
    Sanjin Švajger


    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    341
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by KINOKS View Post
    Yes, but does it use all of it's pixels for slowmo or does it pixel or line skip or something...? Doesn't it?
    It's a 4K sensor but shoots Full HD right now (before the firmware upgrade). It shoots Full HD regardless if you are shooting 24 fps or 240 fps. The resolution is not halved. There is no difference between 24 fps vs 240 fps. Though 240 fps is in burst mode. In 480 fps mode the resolution is halved, and in 960 fps mode the resolution is halved again (4 times less).

    After the firmware upgrade it will shoot 2K RAW at 240 fps (continuous) and 4K RAW at 120 fps (4 second burst) -- all to Sony's external recorder.


    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #26
    Senior Member KINOKS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    EU / Slovenia
    Posts
    908
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by evilthought View Post
    It shoots Full HD regardless if you are shooting 24 fps or 240 fps. The resolution is not halved. There is no difference between 24 fps vs 240 fps.
    I think there is a difference in IQ when shooting slow-mo or normal 25/30p. There is more aliasing when shooting slow-mo and I also think that the resolution is not the same. The actual resolution and not the pixel count on the frame raster that is...
    I also think that, that is what harddrive was talking about maybe...
    Sanjin Švajger


    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    #27
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Augusta, Georgia Area
    Posts
    538
    Default
    Dear Friends,

    The updated FS700 with our Odyssey7Q will be able to record full resolution 2K Raw at 240 fps continuously (which equates to 45 minutes using our largest SSD's).

    I want to stress the full resolution part, this is not half vertical resolution, no sensor windowing, thus no moire problems.

    Our Odyssey7Q will also record from the FS700 in 4K full uncompressed (not in 4K raw) up to 30 fps. Sometime in the future, it may be possible for us to record in 4K Raw at 60 fps but this is not guaranteed.

    Please note that the Odyssey7Q connects directly to the FS700, the Sony Interface unit is not required.

    Please note that the Odyssey7Q and not the Odyssey7 is required for working with the FS700. the Odyssey7Q has a larger "Code Space" to allow us to support more functions at the same time, and we need this extra "Code Space" to work with the FS700 signal.

    Respectfully,


    Dan Keaton
    Convergent Design


    Reply With Quote
     

  8. Collapse Details
    #28
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    801
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by Dan Keaton View Post
    Dear Friends,

    The updated FS700 with our Odyssey7Q will be able to record full resolution 2K Raw at 240 fps continuously (which equates to 45 minutes using our largest SSD's).

    I want to stress the full resolution part, this is not half vertical resolution, no sensor windowing, thus no moire problems.

    Our Odyssey7Q will also record from the FS700 in 4K full uncompressed (not in 4K raw) up to 30 fps. Sometime in the future, it may be possible for us to record in 4K Raw at 60 fps but this is not guaranteed.

    Please note that the Odyssey7Q connects directly to the FS700, the Sony Interface unit is not required.

    Please note that the Odyssey7Q and not the Odyssey7 is required for working with the FS700. the Odyssey7Q has a larger "Code Space" to allow us to support more functions at the same time, and we need this extra "Code Space" to work with the FS700 signal.

    Respectfully,


    Dan Keaton
    Convergent Design
    Can you explain why it can't do 4k60p?

    Is it because the xilinx fpga that was chosen doesn't have enough logic cells to handle 4k60p as well as all other functions it performs, and in order to do 4k60p, you would need to remove some of that other functionality?


    Reply With Quote
     

  9. Collapse Details
    #29
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    341
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by Dan Keaton View Post
    Dear Friends,
    Our Odyssey7Q will also record from the FS700 in 4K full uncompressed (not in 4K raw) up to 30 fps. Sometime in the future, it may be possible for us to record in 4K Raw at 60 fps but this is not guaranteed.
    Convergent Design
    Is the 4K 10-bit? 12-bit? 422? 444?


    Reply With Quote
     

  10. Collapse Details
    #30
    Senior Member starcentral's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    6,702
    Default
    Dan since you are recording 4k RAW from the FS700 with the Odyssey 7Q can you tell us if it is still 12-bit RAW as was the original specification of the FS700 camera?
    Dennis Hingsberg


    Reply With Quote
     

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •