Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
  1. Collapse Details
    Upgrading from HMC150 to AC160 or HPX250...
    After reading through countless posts here about all sorts of info about the new Panasonic cameras, I figured I'd just simply ask a few questions to "clarify" a few things. I'm looking into upgrading from my two HMC150's to two AC160's (or possibly 250's if someone convinces me that that would be better for my purposes) First...a bit of bkgd:
    • I am a Wedding Videographer and that is basically all I need the cams for.
    • I own two HMC150s and they've served me well. My experience with HVX200A's and HPX170's were mediocre at best. Probably due to lack of knowledge, but still I preferred my HMCs to those P2 options when shooting long Weddings.
    • I shoot almost exclusively at 60p and then edit on a 24p timeline speeding up 250% where I need to (I love hearing about the new 1080p60 update!)
    • Low light performance is HUGE for me.
    • Output is always DVD, Bluray and the Highlight Video posted online.
    • I do basic color correction in post, but I don't need to do a ton because we take great care to set it up right. Occasionally, I'll need to bump up the light in post or color correct a difficult mixed lighting environment, but its often nothing crazy.
    Questions:
    1. Is the LOW LIGHT performance noticeably better on the AC160 vs. HMC150?
    2. Is the LOW LIGHT performance any different (noticeably) on the AC160 vs. the HPX250? If so, how is it different?
    3. I know that the HMC150's are not known for their "sharpness" like say an EX1. Heck, I even read that the HMC40 was sharper...so is the AC160 that much sharper than the HMC150? Is it as sharp as the HPX250?