Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16
  1. Collapse Details
    #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,079
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by anatusa View Post
    as i understand rendering is still done by CPU
    Not quite. Rendering (the process of compositing a new frame from all the elements in the timeline, including effects) can be at least partially processed on the GPU, depending.

    It's the transcoding (the process of converting to a new codec) that's done only on the CPU.

    Both steps are required for export.


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #12
    Senior Member Erik Naso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    3,185
    Default
    Here is the spec sheet for CS6 so you can see what Adobe recommends.

    http://www.adobe.com/products/premiere/tech-specs.html

    • GeForce GTX 285 (Windows and Mac OS)
    • GeForce GTX 470 (Windows)
    • GeForce GTX 570 (Windows)
    • GeForce GTX 580 (Windows)
    • NVIDIA® Tesla C2075 card (Windows) when paired with a Quadro card as part of an NVIDIA Maximus™ configuration
    • Quadro FX 3700M (Windows)
    • Quadro FX 3800 (Windows)
    • Quadro FX 3800M (Windows)
    • Quadro FX 4800 (Windows and Mac OS)
    • Quadro FX 5800 (Windows)
    • Quadro 2000 (Windows)
    • Quadro 2000D (Windows)
    • Quadro 2000M (Windows)
    • Quadro 3000M (Windows)
    • Quadro 4000 (Windows and Mac OS)
    • Quadro 4000M (Windows)
    • Quadro 5000 (Windows)
    • Quadro 5000M (Windows)
    • Quadro 5010M (Windows)
    • Quadro 6000 (Windows)
    • Quadro CX (Windows)
    • Tesla C2075** (Windows)
    • AMD Radeon HD 6750M (only on MacBook Pro computers running OS X Lion (10.7.x) with a minimum of 1GB VRAM)
    • AMD Radeon HD 6770M (only on MacBook Pro computers running OS X Lion (10.7.x) with a minimum of 1GB VRAM)
    I’m looking for a less expensive alternative as well but for a Mac. I’m thinking about getting the GTX 285. Not many choices for us Mac Pro users.
    FOR SALE - Sennheiser Evolution G2 Wireless

    My Videos On Vimeo
    http://www.vimeo.com/eriknaso
    Twitter: ErikNaso
    Blog www.eriknaso.com
    Cams: C100, C300, GH4, A7s & anything else I can get my hands on.
    Lenses: More than my wife knows. ssshhh....


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #13
    Senior Member anatusa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    LATVIA, city RIGA
    Posts
    1,031
    Default
    yes seen it already, but most important i d like to know what is better/faster in terms of using it with premier..... but seems like there is no a direct answer to that. some just say gtx 580, others quadro. but the price is kind of the same for 580/680/quadro

    what i found out from other forums is that its possible cards that are not in that list are not supported at all by CS, cards like gtx 590 and 680!

    so question is kind of easier now gtx 580 or quadro 4000

    there is version of gtx 580 with 3gb vram on board........ and for now its seems to me like a better solution, it also has more Cuda cores then quadros

    the Quadro`s plus is that its more PRO end card and more stable, less crash and so on.... also i heard from other forum that quadro 4000 is a modified gtx 460 (400 something not remember exactly),

    also CS6 now can work with 2 cards - quadro and tesla together, so if i understand it right CS6 now support SLI, CS5.5 does not support dual gpu. So if i understand it right then later next year maybe when 580 will coast close to nothing i can buy a 2nd one and make a SLI
    Last edited by anatusa; 04-26-2012 at 07:08 PM.


    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #14
    Senior Member anatusa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    LATVIA, city RIGA
    Posts
    1,031
    Default
    if some one can confirm that CS5.5 support GTX 590 or 680 plz let us all know

    also if some one can confirm that cs 6 supports gtx 590 or 680 plz let us all know

    also i d like to know if SC6 supports Dual GPU...... meaning 2 cards in sli!


    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,079
    Default
    The 590 is overkill. PP can't use dual GPUs in the way you want it to.

    The 680 will not use the new ray-tracing 3D renderer in After Effects CS6, so it's not a very good option either.


    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #16
    Senior Member anatusa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    LATVIA, city RIGA
    Posts
    1,031
    Default
    so seems like gtx 580 with 3GB is optimal then...


    Reply With Quote
     

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •