1. Collapse Details
    Took on a project to big for me, need some advice.
    Hey Guys,

I have taken on a project of making a video for a production at my university. I thought it would be a great experience, and it is, but I am a bit out of my league with some of the stuff I need to do. To start, we ended up filming all the footage on HMC150's that a university studio had. I've never worked with AVCHD before and it is presenting some issues. Alot of the stuff I want to do is work with After Effects. Now, I can't figure out how to get aftereffects to recognize the AVCH footage, but premiere is workinig fine (both are CS5). The thing is, I just found out that the projector that the video will be shown on is standard definition 4:3. Since that is the case, I figure downconverting or rendering the AVCHD footage into a smaller, more standard def image would be ideal. Am I wrong? If that is correct, what is the best way you reccomend doing this? The source footage is 1280x720, 59.94 fps.

Thanks a bunch for any help you can give me!

2. Collapse Details
    I like to convert all my AVCHD or h.264 content to Cineform, which is much less taxing on a computer to edit. For CS5, it isn't really necessary but I still do it anyway. Partly because my PC is not getting any younger and needs all the help it can get, and partly because I just like the fact that everything is the same once converted, regardless of whether it came from an AVCHD camera, DSLR, Canon XF camera, or whatever. Of course the downside is it takes up a lot more storage space.

If you want to go this route, you can try out the free GoPro Cineform Studio program, which should work for AVCHD footage - although not quite as simply and efficiently as the purchasable versions of Cineform Studio.