Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 53
  1. Collapse Details
    NEW GH1 24p 110 MBs Gop 1 patch
    #1
    Senior Member rigs's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Cannington Ontario Canada
    Posts
    270
    Default
    With all the hacking being done to the GH2 I have not given up on my old GH1. I feel that it offers a cleaner image when properly exposed and it has a more smoother filmatic look them the GH2. I have tweaked my current 24p GOP1 settings and it now provides excellent detail and much less macroblocking then before and yes even my GH2. I use this patch for everyday interior scenes and it hold up real well. It will most likely cause write errors in static locked off shots of high detailed exterior scenes, such as dense foliage or brush. Keep in mind that this is not the be all to end all patches, it is maximized for shadow detail, less noise and smoother panning cadence. I have only used this patch in 24p and have not tested or will not be testing it in other modes. I have had good clean results up to iso 500.

    Give it a go, your GH1 will thank you for it.

    vlcsnap-2012-02-20-10h56m57s155.jpg

    PTOOL v3.63 071111

    Camera=GH1
    110 mbps 24p 1 gop rigs feb 20 2012
    SD_Card=SANDISK EXTREME 30MB/S CLASS 10


    Native 24p/25p=Checked
    Video Bitrate FHD/SH=120000000
    Video Bitrate H=34000000
    Video Bitrate L=28000000
    Overall Bitrate=120000000
    720p60 GOP Size=3
    1080p24 GOP Size=1

    Preset bitrate=60
    Preset bitrate 2=60
    Overall Bitrate 2=120000000
    Constant for 1080p=9677721
    Constant for 720p=1577520
    Constant 6000=4500
    Video buffer=50.000.000
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by rigs; 02-20-2012 at 08:09 PM.


    0 out of 1 members found this post helpful.
    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    78
    Default
    Would a Transcend Class 10 16gb card work fine with this hack?


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #3
    Senior Member rigs's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Cannington Ontario Canada
    Posts
    270
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by NeoSlashX View Post
    Would a Transcend Class 10 16gb card work fine with this hack?
    Not sure I only have Sandisk


    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #4
    Default
    Thanks rigs for keeping the GH1 patch dev going. Been using your rigs patch and have been very happy with it.


    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    El Cerrito CA
    Posts
    909
    Default
    Thanks Rigs, your patches are the best!
    HD Video: GH2, XA 10s HF G10s
    Microphones: Sennheiser MKH 80 MKH20 MKH40
    Neumann 11-pattern dual capsule main pair by Rens Heijnis
    Schoeps MK2, MK2H, MK21, MK41 CMC6 amps
    12 custom ribbons of my own design
    Digital Editing: Sequoia
    Snapshots: Olympus E-PL1



    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    El Cerrito CA
    Posts
    909
    Default
    How did you deal with the macroblocking?
    HD Video: GH2, XA 10s HF G10s
    Microphones: Sennheiser MKH 80 MKH20 MKH40
    Neumann 11-pattern dual capsule main pair by Rens Heijnis
    Schoeps MK2, MK2H, MK21, MK41 CMC6 amps
    12 custom ribbons of my own design
    Digital Editing: Sequoia
    Snapshots: Olympus E-PL1



    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    #7
    Bronze Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    300
    Default
    I don't think there is a way around it, because color resolution of GH1 is simply poor. It is not ideal on the GH2 either. This becomes obvious when one tries to massage the colors a bit. If one separates the channels and has a look at the red or blue channel from a GH1, they are coarse. Only the green channel is adequately detailed. I agree that standard shots without much color grading look nice on the GH1.

    I will test these settings on the GH1. I already shoot GOP-1 when possible for the better motion rendering.


    Reply With Quote
     

  8. Collapse Details
    #8
    Senior Member rigs's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Cannington Ontario Canada
    Posts
    270
    Default
    I think the macroblocking is improved with this patch, not perfect by any means but certainly smoother in the blue and reds then what I get out of my hacked GH2. I for one am not impressed with the noise the GH2 produces. Other may call it grain and love the look. I hope, but I doubt that any hack will improve the GH2 sensor. I would rather add grain in post if the final look requires it and capture as clean as image as possible. As far a grading I use smooth film mode with everything dialed down to -2. I can usually pull alot back in grading with good results. Its too bad most of the Ptool efforts are being spent towards the GH2 these days. I still believe the GH1 still has more to give. We just need more efforts to keep it going. Rigs.


    Reply With Quote
     

  9. Collapse Details
    #9
    Default
    Good stuff, man. You know, I too loved the look of our GH1 but the internal noise banding (or whatever term we ended up using) was too much for me. Non of the tricks others used helps... in the end, I had a bum sensor. The GH2 seems to be more consistent in that regard, and the Driftwood hacks at just amazing to me when set up correctly.


    Reply With Quote
     

  10. Collapse Details
    #10
    Senior Member rigs's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Cannington Ontario Canada
    Posts
    270
    Default
    True Cosimo - the verticle noise band is a pain in under exposed scenes which is really evident in the blue channel. Propper exposure and white balance, plus keeping it under iso 500 will help eliminates it. The GH2 also has a simular problem which shows up as a horizontal band.

    Allot of people are happy with the GH2 which is cool. I am however curious on how many GH2 cameras have the same noise grain that I have seen on 4 of the cameras I have owned. I wonder if the people that are not seeing the noise are either getting a better performance out of theirs or they are simply viewing their footage on monitors that are not full HD rez such as laptop (1440 -900 on a MBP screen) or even on a 720p TV screen. Or they are just happy with the noise as is, in which case - to each his own.
    Last edited by rigs; 02-20-2012 at 08:58 PM.


    Reply With Quote
     

Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •