Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. Collapse Details
    Scene Files - Is this a bug?
    #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Delaware, USA
    Posts
    53
    Default
    Okay, I've only had my AC130 for a couple of weeks. Out-of-the-box, if I step thru the Scene file dial, my display nicely displays the Scene File Name (FLUO., SPARK, etc.)

    Through some test shots, I've found that (in order to reduce blown out whites), I eliminate this "problem" by turning DRS on. So, I modified my F1 Scene file to DRS ON, DRS EFFECT=2. Now if I turn the Scene File Dial from F1 to F2, the LCD displays "DRS OFF" rather than the Scene File Name (FLUO.) To further complicate this, I've created a custom F4 (MY_SCN) with DRS=ON. Moving from F3 to F4, displays "DRS ON" and dialing back to F3 displays "DRS OFF", rather than the Scene File Names.

    Is this a bug?

    ...Jerry


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #2
    Default
    I don't think it's a bug. Most likely what's happening is that the name of the scene file is being displayed for a split second but is then replaced by the DRS message. Either that or the DRS message just has priority over the scene file message.

    I wouldn't really consider it a bug...at least not a major one.


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Delaware, USA
    Posts
    53
    Default
    Phil,

    It would be much easier if the camera would display the scene file momentarily, but unfortunately it goes straight to DRS status. I'm a newbie with this camera. Maybe after some use I'll be able to associate F2 with "Inside Fluorescent", but until then, it would be really helpful if the scene file name would display.

    ...Jerry


    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #4
    Senior Member Jan_Crittenden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    New_Jersey, USA
    Posts
    3,621
    Default
    Because DRS is such an huge influence on the image, it was decided to let you know when it was on. If DRS does not have anything to do, i.e. control dynamic range, it will just make you images noisy. Keep that in mind. Unless you have deep shadows to pull out along with those highlights, I might recommend controlling the highlight with exposure, or filters or framing.


    Best regards,

    Jan
    Jan Crittenden Livingston
    Panasonic System Communications Corporation
    Partner Sales Manager, NY and NJ


    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Delaware, USA
    Posts
    53
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by Jan_Crittenden View Post
    Because DRS is such an huge influence on the image, it was decided to let you know when it was on. If DRS does not have anything to do, i.e. control dynamic range, it will just make you images noisy. Keep that in mind. Unless you have deep shadows to pull out along with those highlights, I might recommend controlling the highlight with exposure, or filters or framing.
    Okay, I can buy that. Here's the problem I was trying to correct - retain the detail in both the Swans & the Geese. I don't have a good apples to apples example with DRS=ON, but it seemed to correct the "problem" and I didn't notice any image degradation.

    SwansAndGeese.jpg


    Would it be a better solution to assign DRS=ON to USER3 & leave the scene files with DRS=OFF?

    ...Jerry

    btw: I also experimented with "KNEE", but the effect was not as pronounced.


    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    55
    Default
    Hi Jerry!
    You can allways see the scene file name if you press the DISP/MODE CHK button.
    Aje


    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    #7
    Senior Member Jan_Crittenden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    New_Jersey, USA
    Posts
    3,621
    Default
    I would assign the DRS to a User Button. But that is just me.

    Best,

    jan
    Jan Crittenden Livingston
    Panasonic System Communications Corporation
    Partner Sales Manager, NY and NJ


    Reply With Quote
     

  8. Collapse Details
    #8
    Default
    The "DRS ON/OFF" and the "SCENE FILE NAME" displays happen to occupy the exact same section of the screen, so yes, when DRS changes status its message takes priority. That's not a bug, as Jan said, it's a prioritized warning (i.e., it's a lot more important for you to know that DRS just turned on or off, than it is to know the name of the scene file). However, you can always display the name of the scene file anyway in a different section of the screen. If you set "other display" to "all", the scene file will be displayed in the upper right corner of the screen.

    In other words, have your cake and eat it too...


    Reply With Quote
     

  9. Collapse Details
    #9
    Default
    BINGO!! Jan is 100% correct. That is exactly the right procedure-assigning a user button. DRS is only a tool. It should NOT be utilized as a GAIN function but rather to smooth out shadowy areas.


    But that is just me.

    Best,
    Panasonic AG AC-130, Canon XA20
    (Formely the Canon Xf-100 XF-300) SONY CX-150 GoPro HD-2 and Canon Hf S30.


    Reply With Quote
     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •