Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. Collapse Details
    PLEASE rescue me! DVD/Christmas Gift looks awful!
    #1
    Senior Member Logan LeBlanc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Lafayette, LA.
    Posts
    896
    Default
    I know, I know. Everyone's in a rush. My case is no different.

    My wife asked me last month to edit our wedding video for her Christmas gift. This is three years late. Gulp.
    After lots of caffeine and Adderall, I actually finished it.

    Between that and building an epic treehouse as a gift for my godchildren, I didn't factor in DVD compression and all the bulls*%t it entails.

    Compressor is killing me. I'm either getting crappy pixelated footage or huge files that won't fit on a DVD.

    Yes. I'm basically asking for a walkthrough. HOLD MY HAND (virtually, I mean).


    The project was shot on (3) DVX-100s

    Running time is 45:23

    I'd like it to be the highest quality and cropped to 16x9 out from Compressor.

    Output Formats:
    1) Single-layered DVDsI
    2) Dual-layered DVDs
    3) I also have a Roku 2 XS that can play video files from a USB drive

    Roku would probably be the easiest and best quality.

    PLEASE, dvxusers, I beg you. HELP THIS POOR MAN!!!!

    Phone 337.230.7178
    Attached Images Attached Images


     

  2. Collapse Details
    #2
    Senior Member Logan LeBlanc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Lafayette, LA.
    Posts
    896
    Default
    0 replies? Ay yai yai...


     

  3. Collapse Details
    #3
    Senior Member JeganRX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    373
    Default
    It's 45mins, so even with very high bitrates, a single layer DVD should be more than enough. That said, I assume that the blocky output is due to Compressor's lousy encoding engine. Since I don't typically use Compressor, I don't have the MPEG-2 presets stored to memory, but I assume they're likely bitstarved anyway. Now, typically, you can push DVDs to a safe zone of 8.5Mbits (technically a touch higher, but overhead and audio are the main reasons you cannot), with an average of I'd say, 6-7.

    For OSX, I would use ffmpegx to do MPEG-2 encoding. I'm Windows based and prefer freeware tools when possible, so I'm afraid you'll have to do research for OSX, for there may be a better solution.

    Short Version: Stay away from Compressor


     

  4. Collapse Details
    #4
    Senior Member Jordan Scott Price's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    DFW, Texas
    Posts
    1,320
    Default
    OP, do you have DVD Studio Pro?

    You can output an MPEG-2 from Final Cut Pro and then import that to DVDSP. I've done that before with longer videos (30+ min) and had no quality issues whatsoever (going from 1080 to SD DVD).


     

  5. Collapse Details
    #5
    Senior Member Hawk Teflon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Yukon, Oklahoma
    Posts
    3,352
    Default
    Just saw this.

    Stay away from Compressor? Nah. That's what it's for.

    In FCS: File>Send to>Compressor.
    Compressor will open
    Drop down the "Apple" folder in the Settings of Compressor
    Drop down "DVD"
    Grab the entire "DVD: Best Quality 90 minutes" folder and drag it to the part at the top that says "Drag Settings and Destinations here"
    You can then change your Destination (where it's saved) by right clicking on "Source" and selecting where you want it to go.
    Then click Submit, and Submit again.

    Wait until it's done, then drag the two assets you just created into DVD Studio Pro (one should be an ac3, on an m2v).
    Drag those onto the empty track on the right.
    If you want it to autoplay, right click "Track one" in the graphical tab and select "Play first"
    If you want to create a menu, that's a LITTLE more advanced, so let me know if you need me to go over that one.


     

  6. Collapse Details
    #6
    Senior Member Logan LeBlanc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Lafayette, LA.
    Posts
    896
    Default
    I do have DVDSP. I'm not sure where I'm going wrong. Should MPEG-2 look that bad?!?!? I'll give Jordan and Hawks suggestions a go.


     

  7. Collapse Details
    #7
    Senior Member JeganRX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    373
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by Logan LeBlanc View Post
    I do have DVDSP. I'm not sure where I'm going wrong. Should MPEG-2 look that bad?!?!? I'll give Jordan and Hawks suggestions a go.
    My cynical view of MPEG-2 would lead me to say "Yes"

    Truthfully though, with sufficient bitrate, MPEG-2 should be fine.


     

  8. Collapse Details
    #8
    Senior Member Logan LeBlanc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Lafayette, LA.
    Posts
    896
    Default
    You. Have got. To be. FREAKIN' KIDDING ME!!!

    This did it. This stupid little default setting in QT.

    http://www.dvinfo.net/forum/final-cu...pixelated.html

    Thanks to all!


     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •