Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. Collapse Details
    How do you increase Nikon's bit rate of 20 Mbps?
    #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    326
    Default
    Hey Everyone,

    In my last post, some people brought to my knowledge that Nikon's 20 Mbps bit rate is excellent.

    I just wondered whether (like the Canon hack) if you can max out the bit rate with Nikon DSLRs.

    If so, what is the procedure?


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #2
    Senior Member mojo43's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    848
    Default
    Are you asking how to get 20 mbit/s on a shot? If so, then should high detailed subjects like trees with foliage.

    If you are asking how to raise the bitrate, you would have to hack the firmware (not an easy thing to do).


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    2,524
    Default
    Nikon uses a hardware H.264 encoder in the D7000 and D5100 . That's one of the reasons it produces high quality videos at 20Mbps, and I don't believe it can be hacked.


    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    N.Y.C.
    Posts
    2,832
    Default
    If you are asking how to raise the bitrate, you would have to hack the firmware (not an easy thing to do).
    We should petition Vitaly for a hack for increase mbit/s on the D7000 and D5100. He would know if it can be done. Also full manual control for the D5100 like the D7000.


    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #5
    Senior Member mojo43's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    848
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by John Caballero View Post
    We should petition Vitaly for a hack for increase mbit/s on the D7000 and D5100. He would know if it can be done. Also full manual control for the D5100 like the D7000.
    I'm in... I believe that he mentioned in a previous thread that it would be possible...


    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #6
    Senior Member bumkicho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Portage, MI
    Posts
    863
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by John Caballero View Post
    We should petition Vitaly for a hack for increase mbit/s on the D7000 and D5100. He would know if it can be done. Also full manual control for the D5100 like the D7000.
    I would love to see this happen if Vitaliy would be willing.


    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    #7
    Senior Member bumkicho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Portage, MI
    Posts
    863
    Default
    Here is what Vitaliy said about this. It may not be practically doable.

    "Nikon D7000 firmware is encrypted.
    Dumping them is extremely hard task, as requires knowledge and expirience. And, normally, cost very big money."


    Reply With Quote
     

  8. Collapse Details
    #8
    Senior Member mojo43's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    848
    Default
    Oh I could have sworn that I read something else. Disappointing...

    Where did you read this?


    Reply With Quote
     

  9. Collapse Details
    #9
    Senior Member bumkicho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Portage, MI
    Posts
    863
    Default
    On Vitaliy's personal view website. Yes it is disappointing.


    Reply With Quote
     

  10. Collapse Details
    #10
    Senior Member mojo43's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    848
    Default
    I just got a tip that this person has decoded the D3100 and D7000 firmware. He states in his blog that he is excited to start on the D5100.

    http://simeonpilgrim.com/blog/2011/1...#comment-23108

    Vitaliy?


    Reply With Quote
     

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •