Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Collapse Details
    Advice on becoming a Director
    Hey,

Any advice here? I write my own screenplays and of course serve as my own editor. Do those who direct their own shorts/features go to film school/take workshops or did you read a bunch of books no the subject and go to it?

Chris;)

2. Collapse Details
    What To Do
    You know Chris, there are a lot of answers to this but there are a few things to keep in mind.

I worked as an actor in Hollywood for over 10 years where I was actually making a living at it. But eventually I decided that my creativity was needing a better outlet. So, I decided to start producing my own stuff. But, I was ahead of the curve in some ways as I was pretty familiar with the whole film business and I could stick myself in a film and actually get some sales

Anyway, I wrote a script and put together some "name" actor friends of mine and then spent 6 months raising money from friends, family, etc. to make the film. I eventually put together about 400 grand and we shot it. We got lucky and I have produced about 6 films since then.

I just finished my favorite one which we did for 100 grand and shot on HD 24P. It was a western/thriller and a very great experience as I had no producers hounding over our shoulders. But, that will usually be the case so you have to deal with it. I have directed two films, second unit directed four films and had three screenplays produced.

Guess what I am trying to say is, the best thing to do is just start doing it. I never went to film school, but was around a working environment that taught me a lot as an actor. When I started directing, I was very familiar with sets and the proccess of how they work. Just start small and start entering film festivals. Do a couple shorts and see the problems and work load that comes with that. You can learn a lot that way.

Good luck and get to work!

3. Collapse Details