Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. Collapse Details
    hdmi out while recording: 60D vs T3i
    #1
    Senior Member wgzn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    houston, TX
    Posts
    4,542
    Default
    i read in philip bloom's dslr review that the hdmi monitoring from the 60D drops to SD while recording.

    havent seen it mentioned anywhere if the T3i does this...


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #2
    Senior Member wgzn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    houston, TX
    Posts
    4,542
    Default
    NEVERMIND: RTFM! page 164 in the T3i manual. it indeed drops as well.

    so it would seem for the extra $200 for the 60D you get:
    - slightly heavier build
    - a little LCD on top for info
    - separate dials for f-stop and ss (that alone may be worth it!)
    - direct kelvin temp selectable white balance

    anything else im missing?


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Moorpark CA
    Posts
    692
    Default
    it uses the larger capacity batteries (the same ones at the 5d) but they are chipped meaning finding knock offs that work is more expensive and challenging. The t2i and t3i share batteries and they can be found for as little as $5 a piece.


    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    West Country, UK
    Posts
    404
    Default
    The 60D also gives you the intermediate ISO numbers.

    I've been using replica batteries with the 60D for several months now and they seem to work ok (the chip provides battery info to the body just like genuine batteries). I paid 54 for 3 batteries, which is just a bit more than a single Canon battery. I also have a replica mains adapter which works ok too.

    The bigger 60D batteries last noticeably longer than the smaller batteries used in my 550D. And the slightly bigger 60D body means I don't need to take the tripod quick release plate off to open the bottom battery compartment door to change batteries as I do with the 550D.


    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #5
    Canon DSLR Moderator M. Gilden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Just north of NYC
    Posts
    1,970
    Default
    The only camera capable of HD out while recording is the 7D (not even the 5D can do this), and supposedly only possible because of the dual-chip design that is unique to the 7D (and incidentally, why the 7D overheats faster than all the other options).

    This is all in a sticky post up top:
    http://www.dvxuser.com/V6/showthread...-vs-60D-vs-T3i)

    That thread was written for exactly questions like these!
    Need Adobe CS Production Studio? I happen to have one retail box for sale!
    Making movies, and the internet a happier place.
    Twitter: @theRombus
    Click Here to view my Techcitement articles

    Black Panasonic GH2 | Silver Panasonic GH2 | Bunch of Canon DSLRs w/Magic Lantern and audio monitoring | DVX100
    Vintage lens fanatic | More accessories than I care to list anymore



    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #6
    Default
    The 550d can output while recording using magic lantern.


    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    #7
    Senior Member Samuel H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    5,325
    Default
    ^ yes, but it's still SD

    by the way: magic lantern is a huge advantage; I guess it will eventually come to both, but look at the relevant threads here to see how far that may be


    Reply With Quote
     

  8. Collapse Details
    #8
    Default
    Well I suppose this answers my other question whether a 10 inch monitor is any good for hdmi vs sd.

    My thoughts were that there would be little or no difference untill you get into the bigger monitors.

    See other link


    Reply With Quote
     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •