Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. Collapse Details
    Can Af100 shoot or output standard def?
    #1
    Senior Member traviswears's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    321
    Default
    Just booked 3 days shooting track relays w/the Af100. Streaming footage from camera, and was just told that they're wanting standard def. Can the Af100 even shoot standard def or can it output standard def via SDI for streaming purposes?

    I did poke around in the menu but wasn't sure exactly. Any help would be appreciated, as I'll have to rent or borrow another camera if I can't use the Af100 for this.

    Thanks!


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #2
    Default
    It can't record standard-def, but you can configure the SDI to output standard-def, and you can set the HDMI to output 480p or 576p, and the composite video output is always outputting standard-def.


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #3
    DVXuser Sponsor
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    84
    Default
    You can go out of the RCA Jack which is standard def. You can also set the outputs of the HDMI/SDI to down convert, though I doubt the streaming app would accept either input.

    I don't have the camera in front of me to play with but I don't think you can down convert out of USB or firewire....come to think of it, does it even have a FW out? I can't remember.

    Either way, RCA out into a Digital to analog converter and you should be good to go.
    Daniel Colmenares
    Rental/Sales Agent
    EVS- HD Sales & Rentals
    1620 Flower Street
    Glendale, CA 91201
    (800) 238-8480
    (818) 552-4590

    daniel@evsonline.com
    www.evsonline.com



    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #4
    U-matic Member groveChuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Miami
    Posts
    2,437
    Default
    Barry, what do SDI Downconvert and Composite output- 480i DV?


    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #5
    Senior Member traviswears's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    321
    Default
    Barry - Thanks much. So, would the aspect ratio at 480p automatically go to 4:3 then? Or would it remain 16X9 w/bars? My client needs 4:3.


    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #6
    Steadi-Guru mikkowilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Juneau, Alaska, USA
    Posts
    9,231
    Default
    480i NTSC

    DV is a data format used in Files, DV tape and on Firewire.
    Mikko Wilson
    Steadicam Owner / Operator - Juneau, Alaska, USA
    +1 (907) 321-8387 - mikkowilson@hotmail.com - www.mikkowilson.com


    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    #7
    U-matic Member groveChuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Miami
    Posts
    2,437
    Default
    Good point Mikko, I realized that would be the case after I posted.
    But back to the OP's question- what aspect ratio?


    Reply With Quote
     

  8. Collapse Details
    #8
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by groveChuck View Post
    Barry, what do SDI Downconvert and Composite output- 480i DV?
    Well, it depends on if you're in 50Hz or 60Hz mode, of course. In 60Hz mode, it downconverts to uncompressed NTSC 480/60i (with appropriate 2:3 pulldown if you're shooting 24p). And on the HDMI, it outputs 480/60p.

    If you're in 50Hz mode it outputs PAL 576i on the composite and SDI outputs, and 576/50p on the HDMI.

    It's not "DV" because that's a compressed digital video signal. It's outputting uncompressed digital video on the SDI/HDMI and normal NTSC (or PAL) analog video on the composite port.


    Reply With Quote
     

  9. Collapse Details
    #9
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by traviswears View Post
    Barry - Thanks much. So, would the aspect ratio at 480p automatically go to 4:3 then? Or would it remain 16X9 w/bars? My client needs 4:3.
    You can tell it which to do -- if you choose "Side Crop" it will be a 4:3 center extraction. If you choose "Letter Box" it will be a 16:9 image nestled within a 4:3 signal with black bars on the top and bottom. If you choose "squeeze" it will output a 16:9 image for use on a 16:9 monitor.


    Reply With Quote
     

  10. Collapse Details
    #10
    Senior Member traviswears's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    321
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by Barry_Green View Post
    You can tell it which to do -- if you choose "Side Crop" it will be a 4:3 center extraction. If you choose "Letter Box" it will be a 16:9 image nestled within a 4:3 signal with black bars on the top and bottom. If you choose "squeeze" it will output a 16:9 image for use on a 16:9 monitor.
    Thanks. Exactly what I needed to know.


    Reply With Quote
     

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •