Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. Collapse Details
    Capture direct onto a Hard Drive?
    #1
    Default
    Hey guys,

    I am wondering if i can directly capture Video from the T2i into a Hardrive. Id like to know, so i could mount a Hard Drive to my Rig and dont have to deal with SD Cards.

    Thanks


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #2
    Senior Member DDirector's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Oakville, Ont.
    Posts
    1,426
    Default
    Ah, I like this. I too would like to know. Ive never heard anyone try with a DSLR. Maybe because its not possible?
    MICHAEL FRYMUS
    Camera Operator / Gaffer / Cinematographer





    Canon C300 EF + Tilta Cage - 19mm Studio Setup
    Canon 17-55mm f/2.8 IS, Tokina 11-16mm, Contax Zeiss 28, 35, 85, 135mm f/2.8


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #3
    Senior Member Samuel H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    5,201
    Default
    I don't think it's possible...

    the closest thing I know about would be an eye-fi card, but those have many issues


    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #4
    Canon DSLR Moderator M. Gilden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Just north of NYC
    Posts
    1,962
    Default
    No. The camera does not support usb host as far as I can tell... so there's really no way for it to interface with any external media at all.

    Better idea would be to record hdmi output to an external recorder, like a computer or firestore- effectively getting around the 4gb limit. But that isn't possible yet either since getting clean hd live output is proving a challenge.

    Sorry, sd is all u got


    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #5
    Bronze Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Washington DC
    Posts
    447
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by Phil_UK View Post
    Hey guys,

    I am wondering if i can directly capture Video from the T2i into a Hardrive.
    No. HDMI out is your only option.


    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #6
    Default
    Ok, pretty muched solved it.
    Cheers


    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    #7
    Canon DSLR Moderator M. Gilden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Just north of NYC
    Posts
    1,962
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by Phil_UK View Post
    Ok, pretty muched solved it.
    Cheers
    ?


    Reply With Quote
     

  8. Collapse Details
    #8
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by dishe View Post
    No. The camera does not support usb host as far as I can tell... so there's really no way for it to interface with any external media at all.

    Better idea would be to record hdmi output to an external recorder, like a computer or firestore- effectively getting around the 4gb limit. But that isn't possible yet either since getting clean hd live output is proving a challenge.

    Sorry, sd is all u got
    this solved it


    Reply With Quote
     

  9. Collapse Details
    #9
    Canon DSLR Moderator M. Gilden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Just north of NYC
    Posts
    1,962
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by Phil_UK View Post
    this solved it
    ...but I mentioned that you can't get clean HD live video out. If you found some way to make this work, I can guarantee that other on the board would LOVE to hear how!


    Reply With Quote
     

  10. Collapse Details
    #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    683
    Default
    Does it shoot full HD out of the HDMI? I thought it was under 1920 x 1080?


    Reply With Quote
     

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •