Page 1 of 9 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 87
  1. Collapse Details
    Atomos Ninja Update
    #1
    Default
    For those interested in what's happening with the Atomos Ninja ( www.atomos.com ), Ed Lee at Cinema5D was finally able to get in touch with Jeromy Young, head of Atomos on Feb. 1:

    OK so brief update.
    I finally got hold of Jeremy and he says he's begun shipping to distributors in Euroope, Japan and USA.
    All the Ninjas are here in Hong Kong right now preparing to ship. But because of the LUnar New Year holiday there's been a slight delay... man, can't believe they're all in one place and possibly quite near me too..
    As for testing, he says he'll bring one over next time he's in HK possibly next week, or else he's going to send me one directly.


     

  2. Collapse Details
    #2
    Senior Member bgundu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    2,462
    Default
    Thanks for the update.


     

  3. Collapse Details
    #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Bloomington MN
    Posts
    247
    Default
    Now all we need is an update from Birger.


     

  4. Collapse Details
    #4
    Dark Side of the Camera Postmaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,304
    Default
    Is there a cheap converter from components to HDMI?

    I saw some dumb adapters, but not sure of the signal quality and if they work with the Ninja.

    If so, it could replace my firestore.

    Oh, and balanced audio inputs would be mandatory.

    Frank
    Last edited by Postmaster; 02-02-2011 at 11:23 AM.
    frankglencairn.wordpress.com
    http://twitter.com/FrankGlencairn



    Real men edit their films in a hex editor.


     

  5. Collapse Details
    #5
    Senior Member bgundu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    2,462
    Default
    What camera would you be using the Ninja with? I don't think there would be any nice portable on camera solution to convert the analog component signal to HDMI.

    Quote Originally Posted by Postmaster View Post
    Is there a cheap converter from components to HDMI?

    I saw some dumb adapters, but not sure of the signal quality and if they work with the Ninja.

    If so, it could replace my firestore.

    Oh, and balanced audio inputs would be mandatory.

    Frank


     

  6. Collapse Details
    #6
    Senior Member Geno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Oakland, USA
    Posts
    139
    Default
    If it works as advertised, it would at least eliminate the log & transfer to Pro-Rez step. That alone would make it worth it. Getting 4:2:2 would improve keying. I also have a Canon HV20 which sends 1920x1080 full raster out to the Ninja! Af100 + HV20 at 1920x1080 4:2:2, nice combo.


     

  7. Collapse Details
    #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Minneapolis
    Posts
    1,316
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by Postmaster View Post
    Is there a cheap converter from components to HDMI?

    I saw some dumb adapters, but not sure of the signal quality and if they work with the Ninja.

    If so, it could replace my firestore.

    Oh, and balanced audio inputs would be mandatory.

    Frank
    There are super cheap $50 solutions for this. A lot of people need to convert older HD home theater devices to HDMI for use in there home theater systems. Look on Amazon.

    http://sewelldirect.com/Component-to...FQTrKgodNX5h0A
    Last edited by Brian@202020; 02-02-2011 at 12:13 PM.


     

  8. Collapse Details
    #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Hollywood, USA
    Posts
    752
    Default
    Does anyone know if the Ninja will record automatically when the AF100 rolls?


     

  9. Collapse Details
    #9
    Default
    I don't know if there's any "rolling" protocol in HDMI. In HD-SDI, there's a flag that they set that lets an external recorder know that the record button was hit; I used that with the HPG20. And in the Nano, it can sense when timecode starts moving, in order to trigger rolling. But HDMI doesn't have timecode at all, it's just not part of what HDMI does, so it can't do that. And, like I said, I don't know if there's any sort of flag or protocol that can be sent to tell an external HDMI recorder to start rolling. The Nano doesn't do that.


     

  10. Collapse Details
    #10
    Default
    In theory it should be possible, easy even. My relatively simple TV knows when it's being fed a signal and when it's not, so a simple signal/no-signal HDMI trigger built into these recorders shouldn't be a problem... theoretically.
    Lots of toys... that I barely know how to turn on


     

Page 1 of 9 12345 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •