Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 58
  1. Collapse Details
    GH2 RAW 4.2.2 HD Out?
    #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,517
    Default


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #2
    Default
    Sounds like the GH2 outputs uncompressed 4:2:2. Nothing really new there, every consumer camcorder with an HDMI port does exactly the same thing.

    I guess it's new to DSLR users, as they have weird limitations like dropping to SD during recording or whatever but... even a Canon HV20 does uncompressed HD on its HDMI port, so it's not really anything all that special.

    The use of the term "raw" is what's confusing things. Raw has a very specific meaning, which is an unprocessed, direct copy of the sensor's output. No video camera does raw. All video cameras process their images, and then output it on their digital outputs. The difference is that it's not been compressed with the h.264 codec, so it's uncompressed, but uncompressed does not equate to raw.

    You will never see actual "raw" output over an HD-SDI or HDMI port. Those mechanisms don't transport raw, they transport defined video signals.
    Last edited by Barry_Green; 11-22-2010 at 11:29 AM.


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #3
    Senior Member Hunter Hampton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    LA
    Posts
    2,845
    Default
    The "raw" does get misused like this. However, there is one camera I know of though that sends raw bayer data over dual-link hdsdi (arri d21 via T-link), quite rare of a use though I would guess, probably wont see another camera set-up to do that.
    Hunter Hampton
    hunterismyfriend.com
    vimeo.com/hunter


    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    762
    Default
    It seems too good to be true that DSLRs can compete with the new large sensor pro-cameras, like the Sony F3, Arri Alexa, Red Epic and even the more affordable DSLR-sensor-derrived Panasonic AF100 on pure image quality. Again, we need to confirm this is the case, until it's confirmed for all I know it may be a clever ploy by Akihabara to grab some hits.
    Certainly sounds like fiction. "RAW" HDMI output from GH2 or any other DSLR on the market is not the same RAW sensor output from a Red camera.

    "RAW" HDMI data on your typical DSLR has already undergone quantization and chroma subsampling, both lossy compression methods. It does not undergo the third level of compression in an AVC encoder, but is still compressed from a purely imaging data point of view. And herein lies the distinction between "boys" and "men" of the camera world, amongst many other aspects.


    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #5
    Bronze Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    2,415
    Default
    Generally, 1080p RAW can be worse than 1080p HDMI "raw". As HDMI signal is result of debayer and rescaling from higher resolution, usually.


    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    344
    Default
    They mean uncompressed hdmi, and for many this is the biggy, because for the not exactly expensive price of $1000 they can record 10bit 422 prores. Surely this is a real turning point for the industry, from a price-performance perspective?


    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    762
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by Adventsam View Post
    They mean uncompressed hdmi, and for many this is the biggy, because for the not exactly expensive price of $1000 they can record 10bit 422 prores. Surely this is a real turning point for the industry, from a price-performance perspective?
    One may record to 10bit 4:2:2 Pro-Res, however the signal originates at 8-bit. A step forward this is, but turning point?


    Reply With Quote
     

  8. Collapse Details
    #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    344
    Default
    How do you know it originates as 8bit, actually it originates as 12bit!


    Reply With Quote
     

  9. Collapse Details
    #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    762
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by Adventsam View Post
    How do you know it originates as 8bit, actually it originates as 12bit!
    Origination in this context means the point at which HDMI signal is handed off to the Ninja. I'm 100% certain that signal is 8-bit. Because a consumer product will not upend the professional one costing 5x as much from the same parent company.


    Reply With Quote
     

  10. Collapse Details
    #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    344
    Default
    Well actually, it depends what hdmi standard they adopted and they could be using anything from 8bit to 12bit, so unless they declare it we dont know? plus it could very well be 12bit 422, there is no reason why they need to downgrade the hdmi processing it may of been built into the processing chip and there isnt anything they can do about it ie the firmware! if they support deep colour from the hdmi and all the manual says is vierra version 5 compatiable which goes all the way to version 1.3 hdmi, so it could be 12bit uncompressed output?


    Reply With Quote
     

Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •