1. Collapse Details
    Quick Help with Extension Cord Wattage Question
    Bronze Member
    Hi guys I have a shoot tomorrow during which I'll be using my 2k for the first time. I've never used as huge of a light before and will probably have to run it via extension cords from a 20amp circuit in the basement. My question is, I know extension cords are supposedly rated for certain amount of wattage.

I have several heavy duty orange extension cords, you know those orange workman ones you'd buy at a home depot or something with the thick cord. However I don't see the max wattage stamped on them anywhere and was just wondering if anyone here can tell me in general if these will handle 2000watts or whether they too are sometimes rated for lower stuff? I did a test in my own home first just to make sure and I kept the 2k on for about 10-15 min with the extension cord and it got warm but never super hot or anything, I wonder if this is a good sign and/or confirmation that it's fine? Or is it even turning warm a bad sign that the cord can't handle it?

Much appreciated fast responses thanks!

2. Collapse Details
    i can't speak for your situation, but my basic orange extension chords are rated at 1800 watts. howd the shoot go? any problems with the chord?

3. Collapse Details
    Quote Originally Posted by dv416 View Post
    i can't speak for your situation, but my basic orange extension chords are rated at 1800 watts. howd the shoot go? any problems with the chord?
    For 2000 W @ 110 VAC, or 18 A, an extension cord rated for 20 A, that is 12 guage cord, should be used. However, the receptacle should be rated for 20 A as well, and is indicated by the additional 'perpendicular' blade slot, if the receptacle has been correctly installed to match the amperage available.

Hopefully nothing bad happened...

4. Collapse Details
    Quote Originally Posted by Homunculus View Post
    My question is, I know extension cords are supposedly rated for certain amount of wattage.