Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. Collapse Details
    24p/60p slo mo problems in FCP 7
    #1
    Senior Member woodcarver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    217
    Question
    So, I get this process in principle, but I must be screwing something up. I shoot in 720 60p. Ingest it using log and transfer. Drop the footage in a 24 fps timeline then slow the footage down to 40%.
    Sounds simple-ish. However, when I do this the 60p footage doesn't look any different than 24p footage slowed down to 40%. It doesn't look like true slo mo.

    I know I'm probably a dunderhead. Can anyone help me?


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #2
    Senior Member Joe Walker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Birmingham, Alabama
    Posts
    283
    Default
    Open the clip up in cinema tools and then conform it to 23.98 and it will be gorgeous slow mo once you bounce back to FCP.


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #3
    Senior Member hdimages.ca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    life on location
    Posts
    638
    Default
    the 150 doesn,t over crank at 720p 60 . ? you will be stretching out real speed not over crank speed.
    4kfilms.ca fs700 , metabones , q7 , 5dm3 , heli gyro sk8 ,


    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #4
    Senior Member woodcarver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    217
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by cannes1979 View Post
    Open the clip up in cinema tools and then conform it to 23.98 and it will be gorgeous slow mo once you bounce back to FCP.
    Ah ha! That was it. Thank you!


    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #5
    Senior Member evolvnyc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Brooklyn
    Posts
    591
    Default
    Quick question though - When I'm editing 5D Mark II footage in FCP 7 in a 23.98 timeline but when I changed 60P footage into 24P in Cinema Tools, it's true 24P whereas my FCP timeline is 23.98 - does this matter? There doesn't seem to be a "23.98" option in Cinema Tools...? Advice appreciated.


    Reply With Quote
     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •