Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. Collapse Details
    7D Firmware 1.2.1 fix overheating issue?
    #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    3
    Default
    Anybody test new firmware update 1.2.1 to see if it really solves overheating issue? I just ordered 7D, but I am now thinking of exchanging it for a 5D because of this problem.

    Thanks,

    Shawn


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #2
    Default
    solved my overheating issues. Before the update the temp indicator would go on everytime I filmed for over 5 minutes. Hasn't happened since the update.


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #3
    Bronze Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    217
    Default
    It's not going to solve the over heating issue. All it does is extend the time the camera takes to warn you of overheating. It'll still over heat with extended use.


    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #4
    Senior Member cjwolff's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    New Orleans
    Posts
    276
    Default
    You will still see overheating in direct sunlight, using 1.2.1 in arizona sun last weekend.


    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Vancouver, BC Canada
    Posts
    36
    Default
    My 7D on 1.2.1 might have damaged the sensor some how.









    the camera was working fine, after i used the video function for a little while these lines started appearing on the sensor, permanently.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wbIG6ERqB_U




    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #6
    Default
    I have heard similar issues w/ horizontal and vertical banding after the latest update. I still get overheating in average temperatures even after the update. Usually happens 5 seconds after I hit record.


    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    3
    Default
    Well I just got the 7D today from B&H. It came with the 1.2.1 firmware. The first thing I did was record three consecutive 12min. clips at 60fps, 2 indoors and one outdoors in direct sunlight at about (75F) to see if I could get it to overheat. I'm happy to say I didn't see even a temperature warning. Works flawlessly so far. Maybe 1.2.1 really does fix the issue. Don't get me wrong the camera does get warm to the touch but not super hot.


    Reply With Quote
     

  8. Collapse Details
    #8
    Bronze Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    524
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by paintball_kidz View Post
    My 7D on 1.2.1 might have damaged the sensor some how.









    the camera was working fine, after i used the video function for a little while these lines started appearing on the sensor, permanently.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wbIG6ERqB_U



    have you tried dropping back to the previous firmware? firmware should have no correlation to the physical properties of your sensor, merely how it interprets what your sensor is seeing. It may have just been a glitched install. (Hopefully, this sucks)


    Reply With Quote
     

  9. Collapse Details
    #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    3
    Default
    Well I just got the 7D today from B&H. It came with the 1.2.1 firmware. The first thing I did was record three consecutive 12min. clips at 60fps, 2 indoors and one outdoors in direct sunlight at about (75F) to see if I could get it to overheat. I'm happy to say I didn't see even a temperature warning. Works flawlessly so far. Maybe 1.2.1 really does fix the issue. Don't get me wrong the camera does get warm to the touch but not super hot.


    Reply With Quote
     

  10. Collapse Details
    #10
    Director of Photography TimurCivan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    12,182
    Default
    Ow.

    Canon should fix this for free... this looks like thier bad, or even if it was your fault, they can probbaly reinstall your firmware properly...
    Cinematographer
    Sigma Pro

    www.timurcivan.com 917-589-4424


    Reply With Quote
     

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •