Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. Collapse Details
    Making a western - not as hard as you think.
    I thought since I've had some experience making westerns (a feature and a short) I'd chime in and talk about some of the things that have helped me.

WARDROBE:
    This is not as difficult as some might think. It seems like clothes have changed alot in the last 100+ years, but they haven't. Do research on the old west and you'll find alot of pictures. Look closely and you will find several things of note that you may be able to cheat and get away with for cheap. Do a little reading and you can also watch some westerns that did it right ("Unforgiven," "Tombstone") and pay attention to the clothes they wore.

Check out some of these things you can actually buy at the thrift store:

SHIRTS - un-collared, button-up long sleeve shirts always work. Thin collared shirts (solid color - black or white) with no designs will work as well. Thick cotton or wool are better. Don't forget the suspenders.

VESTS - they wore plenty of vests in the old-west and these are also some items you can find at the thrift store. Plain colored or even striped vests from the 70s or 80s will work. The thicker the collar, the better. The thicker the material the better.

SPORTS COATS - Find a sport coat from the 80s or 70s and you can definately cheat with these. As long as they're a thicker material and the print isn't standout and the colors are dark, you're good to go.

PANTS - Flat front pants work the best. The pants that they generally wore back then had two little pockets at the top in the front and buttons for suspenders in the front and back. These pants were sort of a thick cotton and the most common colors from what I've read about and seen were grey, black and brown.