Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 46
  1. Collapse Details
    #11
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by Andy Olson View Post
    Hey Skilled,

    At the moment, Epic I only supports Vegas 9/32bit but will work on 64bit Windows machines. The engineers are working on getting Vegas 9/64bit compatibility.

    Best,
    Andy
    I was wondering why it wasn't doing anything.


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #12
    Senior Member Rakesh Jacob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    1,637
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by mvb View Post
    Yes; however it's doubtful that an affordable PC could do dissolves or other transitions in real time without the proxies.



    2Ghz core 2 duo



    It won't matter with Epic due to the way the plugin is designed, it forces all the rendering through a common memory and interface, totally regardless of layering. We did a test with 400 clips, half of them on an upper layer with 50% opacity (essentially every frame is a dissolve) and it had no effect on stability.
    Awesome, looks very promising, will give it a shot!

    Rakesh Jacob : writer director cinematographer editor (wannabe auteur)
    www.vimeo.com/infopimps Check out some of my work
    www.youtube.com/ipimpstv Over 7.9mil views


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #13
    DVXuser Sponsor mvb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    656
    Default
    Thanks, also we have updated the free demo downloadable at http://dvfilm.com/epic

    It now allows you to have an unlimited number of clips so you can test the stability for yourself. We'd be interested in any feedback.
    Last edited by mvb; 03-23-2010 at 07:16 PM.
    DVFilm Raylight Decoder http://dvfilm.com/raylight/decoder
    DVFilm Raylight Encoder Pro http://dvfilm.com/raylight/EncoderPro
    DVFilm Raylight X http://dvfilm.com/raylight/X


    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #14
    Default
    So far I have testing this! Ans all i can say at this pointis OMG!! ITS AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #15
    Senior Member ATL Media Group's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    1,236
    Default
    Cool... so now it's as smooth, fast and stable as native 7D files in Edius Neo 2.5 and the soon to be released Edius 5.5?

    If so...Sweet

    Oh, so it makes proxies.. How quick does it make them and can you edit with full frame full rez preview?
    Last edited by ATL Media Group; 03-23-2010 at 08:41 PM.


    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #16
    Default
    I use Vegas pro 9. Full frame viewing is no problem..so smooth!


    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    505
    Default
    Thanks for the feedback, Skilled.

    ATL, we're working on some speed tests and also a comparison between the different quality settings. The speed tests do depend on the system speed, but we could definitely show the difference between each and compared to transcoding to different formats.

    At the moment, the Half size is actually the quickest file to generate though the quarter size will soon become quicker in an update.

    Best,
    Andy
    Contact me about being your location sound mixer or videographer in the Austin area
    Audio - PSC M4A+ 4ch mixer, Tascam DR60d, Fostex FR2LE, Sennheiser 416t, Audix SC1xHC, Audio-Technica AT822 Stereo Mic, Rode Blimp
    BM4k - 17-50mm F2.8 Sigma
    GH2, Lumix 14mm, 20mm, 45mm, 14-42mm, Speedbooster
    Nikon Prime Set


    Reply With Quote
     

  8. Collapse Details
    #18
    DVXuser Sponsor mvb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    656
    Default
    A 36 sec 1920 x 1080 24p clip in Epic starts playing back real-time about 1min 15 sec after you drop it into the timeline. That's with the 1/4-size setting.

    That's about as long as you have to wait on your project because while you are scrubbing that clip or adjusting the in/out points, the second clip is processing in the background.

    For that same clip the time is 1 min 25 sec for the 1/2-size setting, and about 2 min for the Full size setting.

    This is on a pretty low-cost 2GHz core 2 duo laptop with 2GB memory.
    DVFilm Raylight Decoder http://dvfilm.com/raylight/decoder
    DVFilm Raylight Encoder Pro http://dvfilm.com/raylight/EncoderPro
    DVFilm Raylight X http://dvfilm.com/raylight/X


    Reply With Quote
     

  9. Collapse Details
    #19
    Senior Member ATL Media Group's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    1,236
    Default
    As a long time soundforge guy, and sonic foundry user, I just can't wrap my head around editing video in vegas 9c..... No problem editing on just about any other nle including: Premiere CS4, Edius and Fcp.... scrubbing in vegas is just odd to me. I used Acid Pro a bunch too... just don't think i'll switch to Vegas when Neo2.5 edits Avchd and dslr footage like butter at full rez already.
    It's fun to muck around with tho.
    =)


    Reply With Quote
     

  10. Collapse Details
    #20
    DVXuser Sponsor mvb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    656
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by ATL Media Group View Post
    As a long time soundforge guy, and sonic foundry user, I just can't wrap my head around editing video in vegas 9c..... No problem editing on just about any other nle including: Premiere CS4, Edius and Fcp.... scrubbing in vegas is just odd to me. I used Acid Pro a bunch too... just don't think i'll switch to Vegas when Neo2.5 edits Avchd and dslr footage like butter at full rez already.
    It's fun to muck around with tho.
    =)
    That's true but with Epic I you can finish your edit instead of waiting for your transcodes, and that's the whole point. We've heard from editors that set up a transcode job overnight and found that it cratered or ran out of disk space, and did not complete. You can waste time transcoding files you end up not using. The transcode files can be huge. Also with Epic there are no transcoding losses.
    DVFilm Raylight Decoder http://dvfilm.com/raylight/decoder
    DVFilm Raylight Encoder Pro http://dvfilm.com/raylight/EncoderPro
    DVFilm Raylight X http://dvfilm.com/raylight/X


    Reply With Quote
     

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •