Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Collapse Details
    Are folks using UV filters?
    Are you guys using UV filters on your lenses as a "protective measure"? Coming from a video background, I'm a bit new to the photography side of things. A friend told me that I should get one since it protects your lens, but I'm not very happy with the results of the 62mm ProMaster UV filter I purchased.

Do most of you just run with straight glass? It seems from looking online that there are definitely two schools of thought. Before I got the filter I'd just keep the lens cap in my other hand and put it back on as soon as I was done recording a shot.

2. Collapse Details
    I use Kenko Pro1 Digital Protector which is a clear glass that do basically nothing but physical protection of the front element which otherwise would be full of my thumbprints.

3. Collapse Details
    Have a clear element on the front of one of my lenses that came with it...really like having that. Not using anything for kit and other lens...but they're doing ok...I carry a cleaning cloth with me and am usually somewhat compulsive with it.

4. Collapse Details
    I have a Hoya Super HMC UV(0) filter on all of my lenses. I see no ill effects. Actually I didn't notice any change to the image.

5. Collapse Details
    UV are a cheap way to protect your lens. But when filming you easily get reflections from the UV and in many situations it's best to remove the UV and shoot without.

6. Collapse Details
    I never use clear or UV filters, I just take caution not to scratch or smudge a lens.

If you look at a film shoot, they *never* put superfluous glass in front of the lens. The only time is if they expect trouble: car shots, rain, mud, etc. And their lenses often cost more than a full Red setup.

The mindset to put on a protective filter comes from the video production side of things where it is recommended to do so mostly because of the skill level of most consumers.