Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 32
  1. Collapse Details
    #21
    Senior Member Mike Manning's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    927
    Default
    Okay do this.. when you captured the footage... it should have saved and logged the files into whatever folder you designated the capture scratch. Open one of those files in to QuickTime, and then click "Command + i" to get info on the video file. Screen shot that window so I can see what your settings are.


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #22
    Senior Member armisiano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    1,152
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by blindbuzta View Post
    Okay do this.. when you captured the footage... it should have saved and logged the files into whatever folder you designated the capture scratch. Open one of those files in to QuickTime, and then click "Command + i" to get info on the video file. Screen shot that window so I can see what your settings are.
    Quick Time won't recognize the MXF file. Can't open it.


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #23
    Senior Member Mike Manning's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    927
    Default
    ah... so you edited natively. okay, so export using DVCPro NTSC and make sure your quality settings are at the highest and the resolution is at the 1280x720 and you should be good to go.


    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #24
    Mod v2.0 Noel Evans's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    10,864
    Default
    Not sure if this helps but....

    Is there a setting to export same as timeline? For example Im on FCP, and I can just export my DVCProHD timeline as DVCProHD. My TRT is about 5:30 and the export was 2.3 GB, as you would expect for 720P, and I dont have to fiddle with any settings.
    w: Noel Evans TV

    e: noel@noelevans.tv
    p: +61 (0) 408 455 374


    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #25
    Senior Member armisiano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    1,152
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by blindbuzta View Post
    ah... so you edited natively. okay, so export using DVCPro NTSC and make sure your quality settings are at the highest and the resolution is at the 1280x720 and you should be good to go.
    And export as what? Are you referring to when I export it as a mov and see the following window


    Because when I go that route and choose the option "Apple DV/DVCPRO - NTSC" it won't allow me to take the resolution any higher than 720x480.

    Honestly it seems that the h.264 codec is the only option that'll work. Is there a problem with that codec? Also, I'd like to complain that the mods never mentioned any sort of format for these to be, avi, mov, whatever. This is so frustrating.


    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #26
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Athens, GA
    Posts
    84
    Default
    The h.264 codec, from what i understand, is designed for web compression, so the resolution of the picture blown up to any large scale will likely suffer.

    I'd try to encode with MPEG2-DVD and adjust the bitrate to the highest setting that will still allow the file to fit on the disc -- the length of the movie will determine what rate you'd use, so you'll have to employ some math to figure it out.

    Unless there's an easier way -- which I'm sure there is. Anyone?


    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    #27
    Producer Mod Brandon Rice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    18,814
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by armisiano View Post
    And export as what? Are you referring to when I export it as a mov and see the following window


    Because when I go that route and choose the option "Apple DV/DVCPRO - NTSC" it won't allow me to take the resolution any higher than 720x480.

    Honestly it seems that the h.264 codec is the only option that'll work. Is there a problem with that codec? Also, I'd like to complain that the mods never mentioned any sort of format for these to be, avi, mov, whatever. This is so frustrating.
    That same thing happens to me when I export in DV/DVCPRO so I know your pain. Though H264 is a web HD setting I've projected it many times on a 720P projector, and it has looked excellent. For what it's worth. Just make sure your gamma settings are accurate, etc.
    Please subscribe to my YOUTUBE CHANNEL to see all of my projects.

    New short film THE APPOINTMENT now available to see!


    Reply With Quote
     

  8. Collapse Details
    #28
    Senior Member Mike Manning's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    927
    Default
    Damn! Do you have QuickTime Pro? That might be why you don't have more options available...


    Reply With Quote
     

  9. Collapse Details
    #29
    Producer Mod Brandon Rice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    18,814
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by blindbuzta View Post
    Damn! Do you have QuickTime Pro? That might be why you don't have more options available...
    That's what I have, and the options are limited to that as well.
    Please subscribe to my YOUTUBE CHANNEL to see all of my projects.

    New short film THE APPOINTMENT now available to see!


    Reply With Quote
     

  10. Collapse Details
    #30
    DVXFest Promo Guru Rodney V. Smith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Atlanta, GA/Toronto, Can/Brooklyn,NY
    Posts
    5,807
    Default
    Dude, Zak says they also take MXF files, so you can export to the P2 Format. I'm exporting tonight and will let you know my settings.

    Were you editing in 960x720 or 720x480? You might have had so scale down if it was 720 NTSC.

    Rodney Smith - Flyin' Monkey Films
    Writer/Director/Cinematographer
    Website | IMDB Link | Web Series
    HVX200, Brevis35+Flip, Glidecam V-8


    Reply With Quote
     

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •