Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Collapse Details
    D90 and Prime Lesnes - Which ones?
    Hey folks. I am primarily a still photographer. I use a Nikon D2X currently, with a number of high quality zooms.

However, I want to get some primes for the upcoming D90 purchase, as I realize this will make the camera even more film-like.

So, my question is this.

I am going to get a 24mm, 50mm, and an 85mm.

Do I get older fully manual AIS lenses:
    24 F2.0 AIS
    50 F1.4 AIS
    85 F1.4 AIS

Or do I get new "D" auto focus lenses (with aperture rings):
    24 2.8 AF D
    50 1.4 AF D
    85 1.8 AF D

I prefer lenses with auto focus, but I realize that when shooting video the focus really only comes in handy before the film starts rolling. But, I'm also more likely to use the AF primes for my still photography over fully manual primes... so, I need to think about that as well.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!

David

2. Collapse Details
    Quote Originally Posted by Davidonabus View Post
    Hey folks. I am primarily a still photographer. I use a Nikon D2X currently, with a number of high quality zooms.

However, I want to get some primes for the upcoming D90 purchase, as I realize this will make the camera even more film-like.

So, my question is this.

I am going to get a 24mm, 50mm, and an 85mm.

Do I get older fully manual AIS lenses:
    24 F2.0 AIS
    50 F1.4 AIS
    85 F1.4 AIS

Or do I get new "D" auto focus lenses (with aperture rings):
    24 2.8 AF D
    50 1.4 AF D
    85 1.8 AF D

I prefer lenses with auto focus, but I realize that when shooting video the focus really only comes in handy before the film starts rolling. But, I'm also more likely to use the AF primes for my still photography over fully manual primes... so, I need to think about that as well.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!

David

IF you can afford them, get the D auto focus lenses, why not? As they all have aperture rings, there is no real problem with 'em.